Purchasing correct wire type

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-14, 07:15 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Purchasing correct wire type

Originally we were buying a small 20" electric free standing stove top. I was told to use 8/3 Romex wiring for this on a 40 amp breaker from my box to the stove itself.

We decided we no longer need a full stove, but need an electric cook top.

I have no idea which wire to purchase for this. I am reading the installation guide for this product and it says...

"All electric cooktops run off a single phase, three-wire
or four-wire cable, 240/208 volt, 60 hertz, AC only
electrical supply with ground"

I believe this uses the same wiring type as an 8/3. Any help/info much appreciated. thanks.

Shop Frigidaire 30-in Electric Cooktop (White) at Lowes.com
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-14, 09:03 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
You need to look at the plate on the cooktop. It will list power requirements in amps.
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-14, 09:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I looked at your link but they don't seem to list the amps. As Astuff said you may have to look on the name plate. However as future proofing I'd suggest 8-3 NM-b even if it only requires a 30 amp breaker. You can use a 30 amp breaker for now and increase to 40 if you change out to a higher amp unit in the futire.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-14, 10:16 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
From the installation instructions for a Frigidaire FFEC3005LW 30-in Electric Cooktop (White):

Electrical Requirements
Observe all governing codes and local ordinances.

1. A 3-wire or 4-wire single phase 120/240 or 120/208
Volt, 60 Hz AC only electrical supply is required on a
separate circuit fused on both sides of the line (time-
delay fuse or circuit breaker is recommended). DO
NOT fuse neutral. The fuse size must not exceed the
circuit rating of the appliance specified on the
nameplate.
From the specifications:
Minimum Circuit Required (Amps): 30A
As suggested,
Originally Posted by ray2047
as future proofing I'd suggest 8-3 NM-b even if it only requires a 30 amp breaker. You can use a 30 amp breaker for now and increase to 40 if you change out to a higher amp unit in the future.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: