Receptacles in attic

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-14, 08:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Receptacles in attic

I've installed a few receptacles at the four corners of my house inside the attic. I used romex and terminated the romex inside the receptacle boxes. The receptacles are run in a series and are affixed to the attic joists with the receptacles facing up (not down) away from the insulation. These were installed for security cameras. The cameras are hung on the outside of the house but the power plug for them goes into the attic and plugs into the receptacles that i installed. Am breaking code by having something plugged into receptacles inside the attic?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-14, 09:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I see that as similar to receptacles above ceiling that the code prohibits. It will be hard to see if the cord degrades over time and could create a hazard.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-14, 11:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,024
You can plug the cameras into the attic receptacles as long as the power supply stays in the attic. You are not allowed to run a 120v power cord through the wall to get outside.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-14, 12:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Not an electrician here like Pcboss is but would like to add to you don't want to add any kind of insulation as long as the receptacles are up near the rafters. Not even foam insulation as then you couldn't see the wire. As long as you do that you should be o.k. but I think they should be moved down to the floor at some point in time as it gets hotter nearer to the roof of the house. At some point in time the heat from the roof may help to break down the outer sheathing on the wire.
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-14, 12:20 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Hedge, they're on the floor now.
The receptacles are run in a series and are affixed to the attic joists with the receptacles facing up (not down) away from the insulation.
Mike90, are these receptacles GFCI protected?

The receptacles for your cameras can be mounted face down in your roof overhangs, for examplr.
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-14, 01:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
I see that as similar to receptacles above ceiling that the code prohibits.
Citation, please? ...............................
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-14, 03:35 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
400.8. .
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-14, 04:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
400.8 deals with flexible cords, it says nothing about having receptacles in an attic space.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-14, 07:34 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
400.8 deals with flexible cords, it says nothing about having receptacles in an attic space.
From the OP:
but the power plug for them goes into the attic and plugs into the receptacles that i installed.
So you can have a receptacle in an attic, just never plug anything into it except temporary stuff, like a light.
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-14, 07:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I could have worded that better, but TI has it explained.
 
  #11  
Old 02-05-14, 10:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Okay, that makes much more sense. However, I wonder if it changes because the output of the plug-in power supply is a class 2 limited power circuit?
 
  #12  
Old 02-05-14, 10:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,143
A little confusion here........ OP hasn't defined what a "power plug" is.

Most cameras run on low voltage and require a plug in power supply. That would be allowed as the wiring from the power supply to the camera is low voltage.

If the cameras actually run on 120vac with an attached power cord.... that would be a problem.
 
  #13  
Old 02-06-14, 07:58 AM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 428
Most cameras run on low voltage and require a plug in power supply. That would be allowed as the wiring from the power supply to the camera is low voltage.

If the cameras actually run on 120vac with an attached power cord.... that would be a problem
So;
(Receptacle in attic)--> (plug)--> (reduce to low voltage)--> (wire goes outside)--> (camera)
Is ok,

But,
(Receptacle in attic)--> (plug)--> (wire goes outside)--> (reduce to low voltage)--> (camera)
Is bad?
 
  #14  
Old 02-06-14, 09:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,143
The part that is bad or not acceptable is that you cannot run a 120vac power cord from a device thru the wall.
 
  #15  
Old 02-08-14, 08:50 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
Install the receptacle under the soffit and plug the camera(s) in there. No code violation. I would not want the transformer is a hot attic anyway.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes