Newbie here on website

Old 02-04-14, 10:49 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Newbie here on website

I recently bought a house full of the old three receptacle two prong outlets. besides the obvious problem of grounding. I have a mystery switch that i have not found out what it controls. It is a normal switch with a red wire and a black wire connected to it. Inside there are three white wires tied together and three black wires tied together. out of the black wires there is an extra black wire leading to the switch and a red wire from somewhere connected to the other side of the switch. When i remove the switch i get 120 volts from either the black wire to the white wires or from the red wire to the white wires. I'm confused as heck as to what this switch controls. I have tried all the outlets without success but that was after i replace a couple of the two prong 3 receptacle outlets with normal three wire two outlet receptacles. It's located at the hallway side of the entryway. I originally thought it could have been a three way switch for the small entryway light until i took it out and looked at it. Any help is appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-14, 11:29 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From your description I think you are talking about an entryway switch. I have the same situation myself, I have two houses that I own with my mom. One house is our rental and was owned by my grandmother for a while after she moved next to us. Before it became a rental I changed out just about every receptacle because they were old and did a quick cheap kitchen remodel. So I had electricians to my rental house to make sure everything was up to code.