Properly wiring the GFI circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-14, 10:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Properly wiring the GFI circuit

In the latest iteration of my bathroom remodel I discovered:
a. all of my bathrooms are on the same circuit
b. only one outlet is actually GFI
c. only one set of wires coming out of the j-box where the GFI is installed.

Trying to approach this with as less pain as possible. I am not planing on rewiring the circuit
How should GFI be properly wired to protect the whole circuit?
Should I just purchase the GFI breaker and install regular outlets?

Thank you in advance,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-14, 11:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
The breaker will be much more expensive than the receptacle.

If the GFI is installed at the start of the circuit it can protect everything downstream in the other bathrooms.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-14, 01:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Thank you pcboss,

That's the reason I started thinking about getting the breaker.
There is no "outgoing" cable from that j-box, that lets me to believe that other outlets in the circuit are not wired in sequence with that one only GFI outlet. The top clamps on the GFI still have the yellow tape with warning on them, no wires are connected there.
Does it mean they are not protected and the only one protected is where the GFI is installed?
If that is the case, i will need 5 additional outlets at $13+ apiece the breaker could (depending how lucky I get) be cheaper? and actually protect the whole circuit.
Thanks,
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-14, 01:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
Only that receptacle is protected. That is the end of the circuit. If you can find other receptacles on the same circuit you could move the GFI upstream and protect the circuit with the one device. The incoming power goes to the line terminal and the downstream get wired from the load terminals.
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-14, 01:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Thanks again!

I think I got it
So I just need to find where the first receptacle in that circuit is wired and then wire the rest of them in sequence.
Any pointers to find out which one is actually the first one? I suspect all of them (since this is the only one without the second cable) will be wired with two cables one in one out.
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-14, 02:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
First is to find out which ones are on the circuit. Then look to see which one is closest to the panel. Open the connection between the blacks. See if one remains hot while the rest go dead. This is the incoming power.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes