Should I install 110v or 220v?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-14, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colombia
Posts: 4
Question Should I install 110v or 220v?

We are building a new home in two phases, the first phase will just have a pool and pool house with small bar.

Our contractor suggested that I have 220v installed and would only have to install one main breaker box for now which could also be used for the main house later.

This concerns me a bit because when I asked if it was ok to run normal 110v appliances off of 220v he said yes but I dont think he's 100% sure.

He also said that the cost to run the pool pumps would be lower because would would use less amps, which again makes no since to me.

Also should I or would I need another breaker box in the main house latter?

Just so you know, we're in Colombia, South America. Here there is no inspector to look at wiring like you have in the States. And I know from past experience if I ask 2 electricians here I will get 2 answers, one will just try to charge the most money he can and the other will tell me what I want to hear and lower the bid to get the job. Nether of which will give me the best advice.

Thanks hoping someone can help me.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-10-14, 06:53 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You should have a 120/240V service installed here by American standards.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-14, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colombia
Posts: 4
@ Justin Smith, thanks for the quick answer but I dont understand what that means, is that certain kind of wire that runs for the meter to the breaker or a special kind of breaker box?
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-14, 07:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
In the US the service consists of two legs of 120 volts. Between the two legs you get 240 volts.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-14, 07:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
In Columbia they closely mirror us but they do use a 110v/220v system.

You should have a 220v service installed. You will get 110v and 220v from it.

Normally a larger service would be installed in the house and a sub panel run from there to the pool house..... but based on your building schedule..... you could have a larger service installed in the pool house and then run a sub panel off of that panel to your house in the future.

Just make sure the service is large enough to support both unless you intend to have a second service run in for the house at a future date.
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-14, 07:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colombia
Posts: 4
@PJmax, thank you for your answer. I will have the 220v installed. I was looking up the US standards and read about split phase 120v/240v. Is that the same thing as you are recommending
 
  #7  
Old 02-10-14, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Yes..... you want to install a 220v service and it will have two 110v legs like ours.
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-14, 07:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
110/220

Here is generally what the US Layout would look like.Name:  Resi Service Quick Layout.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  25.8 KB
 
  #9  
Old 02-10-14, 08:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Colombia
Posts: 4
thanks for all your help I think I got it now.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'