Motion Switch-No Ground


  #1  
Old 02-13-14, 12:53 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Motion Switch-No Ground

Separated from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...no-ground.html

Same issue with a similar switch. Old house, no ground wire.
Attached line to line, and load to load. Both of these wires are black. Switch didn't work (compact clf).
Then attached switch ground to nearby neutral of duplex receptacle. Switch works fine.

The first receptacle in this circuit I installed a GFCI duplex outlet.

So how unsafe is this?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-13-14 at 01:13 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-13-14, 01:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You connected the ground wire from the motion switch to the ground on your nearby receptacle or neutral ?

You can not leave it connected to the neutral.
 
  #3  
Old 02-13-14, 01:29 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
More details:
Light switch and duplex ungrounded receptacle in a wall box.
Original wiring untouched since 1955.
Replaced the existing light switch with a new motion sensing light switch.
Didn't know 'til after purchasing it that it required a ground connection!#$%&!
Info not shown on outside of package.
Anyway, with a CFL in the ceiling fixture, the new switch didn't work.
Directions said it must have ground connection to work.
So I temporarily attached an insulated wire from that ground screw to the receptacle neutral.
Now the switch works fine.

Maybe the new light switch will work w/o ground, but using incandescent bulb.
I will try that. But if it doesn't work then what?
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-14, 01:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Take that control back and get one that connects to neutral.

You don't want a neutral connection left to dimmer's ground. If that neutral failed it would create a dangerous condition with the motion sensor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: