Lights Dimming When Using Microwave

Old 02-14-14, 08:59 PM
Lights Dimming When Using Microwave

This is my first time back here in a while, thanks for all the advice over the years!

Recently I've had a problem with all of the incandescent lights in the house dimming whenever turning on the microwave or the blender in the kitchen. The kitchen receptacles are supplied by a 20A three wire circuit. The microwave and refrigerator do not have their own dedicated circuits, but they appear to be grandfathered onto this three wire circuit. The dishwasher and disposal have their own 20A three wire circuit.

I suspected the issue with the lights dimming was voltage drop. Normally each of the busbars measures exactly 120V per my voltmeter. But when the microwave is turned on, one busbar then reads 123V, and the other one reads 117V. I get those same measurements at the screw terminals to the main breaker, so I'm guessing the main breaker is still good.

The microwave is rated for 14A, and the blender is rated for 10A. So I'm surprised at that voltage fluctuation for a 20A circuit in the kitchen which is only about 40 feet from the panel.

I'm at a loss for what to do next. My current plan is to open up all the kitchen receptacles and look for loose connections, especially a loose neutral. Anything else I should look for?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-14, 04:20 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Loose neutral at the panel also.

Old 02-15-14, 05:38 AM
Since you are measuring voltage irregularities in the panel and since you are observiing lights throughout the house dimming, you should start your troubleshooting at the panel. The problem is probably in the panel or even further upstream such as in the meter box or in the lines out to the utility pole.

Don't open up receptacles or boxes up in the house yet.