Add Outlet to Bathroom

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-14, 07:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Question Add Outlet to Bathroom

I'm putting a GFCI plug in my bathroom (which currently has no outlets). There is only one set of wires connected to the switch (the white and black are both connected to the switch in its current setup). When looking at the light, the blacks front the light are connected and the whites for the light are connected to the red. I'm a little puzzled. Thought the white is a neutral and not to connect to the light switch itself? Any thoughts on how I can integrate an outlet in this?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-14, 07:21 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
You have a switch loop at the switch. The white is a hot, not a neutral.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-14, 07:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Ok, that makes complete sense. Can you add an outlet in that case? I won't have a neutral right? Is that even possible?
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-14, 07:48 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Without a neutral you need to find another source of power. Since this is a new install it should be a 20 amp circuit dedicated to the bathroom.
 
  #5  
Old 02-15-14, 08:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
I appreciate your replies! Is it at all possible to just rewire? Or will that be too much?
 
  #6  
Old 02-15-14, 08:15 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Depends on how the cables are run. No telling from here. You mentioned a red wire. Where is it?
 
  #7  
Old 02-19-14, 08:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Sorry for the delay, the red wire is connected to the light fixture itself (to the white wires coming from the fixture)
 
  #8  
Old 02-19-14, 09:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Sorry for the delay, the red wire is connected to the light fixture itself (to the white wires coming from the fixture)
A red wire should never be connected to the white fixture wire. Are you sure or am I misunderstanding. What color wire is connected to the black fixture wire? Is there a red wire in the switch box.

Explanation: From what you wrote it sounds like they used a 3-conductor cable (white, black, red) for the switch loop and connected it wrong. If so this may be easier.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'