Basement bedroom wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-14, 11:39 PM
markzrt1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 24
Basement bedroom wiring

Hello,

Just got done framing a 12'x13' bedroom in our basement and I'm ready to start the electrical. I will need 1 switch for a light and 5 outlets. There is a line dedicated for this bedroom tucked away in the ceiling. I assume I will need a junction box to start and where do I go from there?

Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-14, 03:29 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Rather than attempting to give you Electrical 101 in a nutshell, it would be a good investment to purchase the book called Wiring Simplified. It is a treasure trove of information on how to wire things, what to expect, what to do and what not to do according to code. It is available at most box stores, and surely at libraries and book sellers.
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-14, 06:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The basement bedroom may also require an egress window. Talk to your building officials.
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-14, 09:46 AM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Personally I would use that cable for the receptacles, and run either a new circuit for the lights or bring power in from another lighting circuit. And also since it is a basement, get a rough idea of where the bed and furniture is going and install a dedicated receptacle for a space heater. (I am unsure of what your winters are like when I say this by the way)
But if you intend to do it all on a single circuit...
The Jbox will work if you have tiled ceiling. Boxes must be accessible so you cannot board over them.
I would bring the cable in to the switch box, use a 4x4 deep box with a 1/2'' mud ring. Bring a 14/2 to the light, and a 14/2 to the first rec. and then off to the other 4.
And have you considered a data and phone jack?
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-14, 09:56 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
And also since it is a basement, get a rough idea of where the bed and furniture is going and install a dedicated receptacle for a space heater. (I am unsure of what your winters are like when I say this by the way)
I like this idea becasue the OP is in Minnesota, cold winters up there. The wire size for the existing circuit should be based on whether the existing circuit is a 20 amp or 15 amp circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-14, 10:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
New Bedroom

I would use a single circuit for the bedroom unless you can extend a circuit from another bedroom that already has the required Arch-Fault protection. You will also need the required smoke detectors.
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-14, 11:53 AM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
I keep forgetting about that Joe, you guys like your 20A circuits. You don't see that much in homes here.
 
  #8  
Old 02-17-14, 09:09 PM
markzrt1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 24
There is an egress window.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes