Add Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-14, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Add Outlet

I want to add an outlet to the ceiling in my basement. There is a wire running along the joist that I would like to add it to. After cutting power, can I simply cut the wire and attach the outlet to the cut ends (power in one side and reconnect the rest of the circuit to the other side). I think this should work but wanted reassurance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-14, 01:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
can I simply cut the wire and attach the outlet to the cut ends (power in one side and reconnect the rest of the circuit to the other side)
Usually not unless there is at least 15" of slack in the cable. If no slack you will need to add two boxes about 15" apart. Cut the cable at the center point between the two boxes and bring one cut end into one box and the other cut end in the other box. Run a cable about 32" long between the two boxes. Use one box as a splice point and install a blank cover. Use the other box for your receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 02-20-14, 01:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Thanks! I thought I was making it seem to easy!
 
  #4  
Old 02-20-14, 02:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
I thought I was making it seem to easy
Don't worry after years of been there, done that I can make it seem hard. Experience is a cruel teacher.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes