MWBC Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-21-14, 10:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
MWBC Question

Hi -

I would like to convert a single, dedicated, 20 amp circuit to a MWBC. It's a line for my home theater amp, and I'm adding a second amp that needs another dedicated 20 amp line.

The run is only about 4ft. from the panel and I think I can avoid cracking open the sheet rock if I can use a 12/3 run.

Is it OK to run it as follows -

Duplex 20 amp braker (newer square D box)
12/3 with hot off each breaker section
Break the tab on the 20 amp plug making it a separate feed receptacle
Neutral and ground as normal

IF the above is OK then -

Do they make a piece that will tie the two duplex breaker switches together?

I'm really not worried about any person related safety issues while I remain the current owner as the plug is behind false walls that require me to remove (meaning a repair man won't be in the house and for some odd reason access this plug- or the like).

What would be the proper way to leave this circuit should I sell the house? Wall plated off with some kind of 'tag' inside or??

Just want to have all the bases covered both for current and future.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-21-14, 11:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
You can not use a duplex breaker as both of those poles are on the same leg. You can use a 240 breaker. It would be a 2 pole QO-20A. Only one handle..... nothing to tie together.

In the future you could replace the receptacle. Use the white and blacks wires. Cap off the red.
Replace the 2 pole breaker with a single pole 20A and cap off the red wire.
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-14, 11:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
Oh yes yes..... I forgot duplex uses the same exact leg for both hots.

I'm out of space, so I would have to combine two singles with a duplex to make room for the double.

I could, although certainly not ideal, use two single 20 amp breakers instead of the one 20 amp/240 volt, correct?

I understand that's not code. I ask more to make sure I'm understanding the breaker box and 'separate' legs situation.
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-14, 11:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Yes.... you could use two single breakers with a tie handle. The breakers would have to be one above the other.
 
  #5  
Old 02-22-14, 12:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
Gotcha. I'm understanding the opposite leg correctly. It's confusing if you don't understand how a breaker box is laid out. One could think opposite legs means opposite sides.

One last question - I'm OK to use the 20 amp receptacle in separate feed mode?
 
  #6  
Old 02-22-14, 12:30 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
You need to use a 20 amp.
 
  #7  
Old 02-22-14, 12:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
Need to use a 20 amp what?
 
  #8  
Old 02-22-14, 03:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
You need to use a 20 ampere receptacle. This is because a 20 ampere circuit may have 15 ampere receptacles IF there are two or more places to plug in to (a duplex receptacle) but in a dedicated circuit as you propose there will be only one place to accept a plug for each 20 ampere circuit and therefore requires that single point to be rated at 20 amperes.
 
  #9  
Old 02-22-14, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
Ok..... So it would make sense that a 20 amp dual receptacle meant for one circuit. that can be separated with the break of a tab to accept two circuits would not change its amp rating... Correct?
 
  #10  
Old 02-22-14, 11:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Yes..... that is correct.
 
  #11  
Old 02-22-14, 11:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
I figured, but I like to make sure with this sort of thing. Thanks.
 
  #12  
Old 02-22-14, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
I got the breaker pictured below and I have two ways I can use it.

Turns out I have another MWBC in the panel, bottom left. It's a kitchen circuit and I'm pretty sure but not positive that each circuit only controls one thing.

In any event they are on untied 20s. I can use my new quad breaker in this location, or I can use in the location marked on the upper right. I would located the one of those 20s to the lower right. The dedicated is indicating my line one of my NEW MWBC.

I'm going to go pull the new 12/3 I just got while I wait for opinions on which would route is better to take.

FWIW I couldn't find a square d quad that had ties on the inside two and outside two. I noticed some Cutler-Hammer have these.

Name:  IMG_2900 (Large).jpg
Views: 105
Size:  47.1 KBName:  quad 20_20.jpg
Views: 118
Size:  27.7 KB
 
  #13  
Old 02-22-14, 09:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 124
Ehhh.. I sat and I stared at it and decided I could do it right on both circuits by simply buying another double pole 20 for the bottom left spot.

So.... that's what I'll do.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes