Can a bad wall outlet cause a whole wall to go dead?


  #1  
Old 02-22-14, 03:38 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can a bad wall outlet cause a whole wall to go dead?

Hi, last night I was turning on my A/V equipment in my master bedroom and all of the sudden boom it all went dead. Now everything on that wall will not work. The ceiling fan/lights, 2 closet lights all of my A/V gear, routers, and even the outlet on the outside of the wall into the den. So, I checked the breaker box and nothing was tripped, but today I went to Lowes and bought a new circuit breaker anyway just to be sure. The old circuit breaker was a 20A and the new one is 30A because I thought it might have just failed instead of tripping. There is a whole lot of current draw on that wall, but no luck. Everything is still dead even after replacing the circuit breaker. I would like to get this fixed as quickly and easily as possible. Also without calling an Electrician if that is at all possible.
Thanks, Jarrod
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-14, 03:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
So, I checked the breaker box and nothing was tripped
You did turn each 15 and 20 amp120 breaker off all the way then on didn't you? You can't tell just by looking.
The old circuit breaker was a 20A and the new one is 30A
Do not use the 30a breaker. It would create a fire hazard. If you need more power run a new dedicated 20 amp circuit only for the entertainment center.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-22-14 at 05:24 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-22-14, 03:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Breakers can but, rarely go bad. Secondly you need to install the proper size breaker before you create a fire hazard.

Try the troubleshooting sticky at the top of the forum and let us know what you find out.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-14, 09:33 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think I bypassed the problem.

I think the problem was with the actual wiring, so I got an elctrical book and it said to use 10 gauge wire with a 30A breaker. So I ran new wire and replaced the outlet and now everything is working fine. For some reason the washing machine was on the same breaker too, so it is now rewired to a dedicated 20A breaker that has been routed into the garage. Thanks for your advice!
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-14, 05:38 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
But if you don't have any high load appliances connected, 30 amps is too much for a residential set up. The converse of the book you read, would have indicated a 20 amp breaker for 12 gauge wire, which makes more sense. Changing the breaker to 20 amps and replacing any defective wiring would have been better, IMO.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-14, 06:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Your lack of knowledge is scarey. You read only part of a book, took what you read out of context, and created a non code compliant situation. As Larry wrote by code general purpose 120 volt circuits can not exceed 20 amps. You can leave the #10 but the circuit breaker should be changed to a 20 amp.
 
  #7  
Old 02-26-14, 12:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not that ignorant.

Current only flows by what is being pulled. It isn't like having a 30A breaker is going to be pushing out 30A of current. The Wire can handle the extra load in the event I have ALL of my A/V equipment on and cranked to 11, both closet lights on, the ceiling fan at max, the overhead light burning and maybe a major appliance plugged into the other outlet.

Meeting Code isn't all that important to me I will probably live here for the rest of my life, but in the event that I do leave this house I will defer to your knowledge and install a 20A breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-14, 02:50 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Meeting Code isn't all that important to me...
Nobody on this forum is going to sprinkle holy water on a non code compliant installation.
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-14, 10:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I will probably live here for the rest of my life
Not if you burn the place down.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: