Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Do branch wires have to be in conduit going to service panel in a wall?

Do branch wires have to be in conduit going to service panel in a wall?


  #1  
Old 02-25-14, 07:21 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do branch wires have to be in conduit going to service panel in a wall?

I'm installing a new semi-flush csed to replace an old surface mount. The branch wires are in the basement. The branch wires were in conduit on the exterior of the house, up about 3' to the surface panel. I have removed the panel and the conduit since this is going to be a semi-flush mount.

I drilled holes in the footer of the wall from the basement and run my branch wires through the footer, up inside the wall to the new semi-flush panel. Do these branch wires have to be in conduit inside the wall or just secured? Also, I have to put in a couple of junction boxes in this area inside the wall to extend the branch wires to reach the new panel. Is that acceptable and can they be plastic boxes? I'm in CA. Thanks in advance!!
 
  #2  
Old 02-25-14, 07:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Cable can be run outside conduit when protected but individual wires can't.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-14, 07:58 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Your picture is not very clear. Footers are in the earth and hold up the walls.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-14, 08:02 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You're right about footers, I meant I drilled holes in the floor, from the basement, inside the wall and ran the branch wires up to the new panel. Do the wires in the walls just have to be secured to studs?
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-14, 08:07 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
If the cable are fished they do not need to be secured except by connectors to the panel. If the wall is open they should be secured by staples or another means.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-14, 08:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You keep writing "wire". Wires are individual conductors. Do you really mean cables, two or more wires in a sheath? Very different things. Very different rules.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: