one breaker or two?


  #1  
Old 02-25-14, 05:04 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: xxx
Posts: 308
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
one breaker or two?

In a standard 200 amp entry panel: Do they have one master breaker (one at 200 amps), or two separate ganged ones (each at a 100 amp) ?

We have a home 500mi from where I am, and am trying to visualize our entry panel.
 
  #2  
Old 02-25-14, 06:11 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,389
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
IT can depend on the brand of panel on how the breaker looks, but if the number on the breaker is 200, it is a 200 amp breaker. If it is marked 100 twice, it is still a 100 amp breaker. You never add up the numbers on a circuit breaker, regardless if it is a multi-pole breaker
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-14, 08:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: xxx
Posts: 308
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK. Thanks.

Was having trouble remembering the basic rules.......
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-14, 02:40 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
You never add up the numbers on a circuit breaker, regardless if it is a multi-pole breaker
There is one exception to this rule, some panel manufacturers will use a special four-pole ganged circuit breaker for the main circuit breaker. In this case each of the four poles will be a 100 ampere CB with two of them paralleled for each incoming line to make a 200 ampere, two-pole CB. This is the ONLY time (that I am aware of) that CBs are allowed to be paralleled and ONLY with a factory-made, tested and listed assembly.
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-14, 06:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,389
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
I do recall seeing an ITE (Siemens) main breaker that looked like a 4 pole breaker, but it was still marked 200 amps.
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-14, 06:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 187 Upvotes on 168 Posts
I do recall seeing an ITE (Siemens) main breaker that looked like a 4 pole breaker, but it was still marked 200 amps.
I think some GEs are also that way.
 
  #7  
Old 02-27-14, 06:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Joe wrote:
I think some GEs are also that way.
Name:  dNclQot.jpg
Views: 146
Size:  25.1 KB

Source: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...ml#post2239691
 
  #8  
Old 02-27-14, 07:48 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 187 Upvotes on 168 Posts
That type breaker is cheaper to manufacture. The older style GE Type TED main breakers were a modificatiomn of a bolt-in breaker and were more expensive to manufacture.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: