Conduit plumb and level?


  #1  
Old 03-01-14, 04:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 236
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Conduit plumb and level?

is there a such thing as making emt/conduit to tight or too flexible?

For example some of the stuff I recently put up, after tightening down the straps, you can do chin-ups on it. I put one outlet box on my cement wall of the basement. If you were to unscrew the box from the wall, it would spring back to another position, not level. I had to push it past its normal resting space in order to make it sit level.


So in other words, should it all be run perfectly level and plumb where you don't have to force it into place?
 
  #2  
Old 03-01-14, 06:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
A good workmanlike manner would have all conduits level and plumb, but it doesn't have to be perfect.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-14, 08:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
It takes a lot of practice to get conduit bends and offsets correct.
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-14, 08:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Sounds like some of the bends were off angle. I don't think I would sweat this.
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-14, 08:28 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
On the jobs we do, you can unscrew any installed box and move it away from the conduit with one finger. Or you can unstrap the conduit and take it away from the box without making the box vibrate.

That said, this is what we get paid to do and we do it all day, every day. I wouldn't expect a non-professional to be able to do that, at least not right off. Every one of us that can do it has left a pile of useless scrap behind us over the years that would probably be larger than a VW bus if you pulled it all together.
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-14, 10:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
Every one of us that can do it has left a pile of useless scrap behind us over the years that would probably be larger than a VW bus if you pulled it all together.
AKA...... the "Dead Soldier Pile"
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: