Circuit Completely Dead

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-02-14, 08:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circuit Completely Dead

I have a single pole circuit out.
Breaker isn't tripped. Pulled breaker and reseated it a couple of times (checked with voltmeter, it's working)
Neutral on busbar is tight
No GFis on the circuit.
Pulled all outlets, switches and fixtures on the circuit. No loose wires or wire nuts.
Using outlet tester in an outlet results in no lights on the tester coming on.
There is 116v leaving the breaker.
The romex coming into the breaker panel for this circuit is 12/3 w/ ground. The red wire feeds the circuit that is dead. The black wire feeds another circuit that is working fine.

Could the problem be with the neutral on the black wire circuit?

Anything else to check?

Assuming I have a broken wire in the wall somewhere (covered over j box?), how do I find it?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-14, 08:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The romex coming into the breaker panel for this circuit is 12/3 w/ ground. The red wire feeds the circuit that is dead. The black wire feeds another circuit that is working fine.
There should be two breakers connected to the circuit. It reads like you only tested one of the breakers.The voltage between the two breakers should be ~240 volts. Make that measurement next.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-14, 08:32 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm guessing you checked out the sticky on troubleshooting your issue. If you have not, then check it out. As of note, you should get 240 volts between the black and red circuit of the 12/3.

If you did not make any changes to any circuits you will need to remove devices/fixtures again and find where the red wire of the multi-wire circuit goes. When you find it, use your meter to check if you have voltage there between red, black and white. You should get 120 between red and white and 240 between black and red.

Could the problem be with the neutral on the black wire circuit?
Yes, and no. The black circuit is working so the neutral should be fine. You could have a bad connection where the white of the red circuit connects. However, you said you get no lights on your receptacle tester so that tells me you have no hot. Otherwise it would show open neutral.
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-14, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have 230v between the black and red.
I tested all outlets in the home and two, on a different circuit, show open ground. After breakfast I'll fix them then start pulling fixtures looking for the red wire.
Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-14, 10:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
two, on a different circuit, show open ground.
Ground is safety only not functional. The circuit will work fine without a ground. However if you used a plug-in tester not a multimeter it could indicate an open neutral. (Plug-in testers can give misleading results.)
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-14, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was a plug in tester, I'll use my multimeter.
Edit.
It was a ground. They used a crimp and it slid off. Reattached and recrimped and both are working fine now.
 

Last edited by oldsmoboat; 03-02-14 at 11:16 AM.
  #7  
Old 03-02-14, 11:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK I am going to try to track it down. I made a crude paint drawing of what I am looking at.
The sub panel is in the room at the top right. The red wire goes out the left side. I assumed it went to the outlet on the back wall marked end of run but when I pulled that outlet, it's where the circuit terminates.
Not sure how an electrician would normally run the wires from the panel, any input on where to check first?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]27602[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 03-02-14, 12:36 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
The red wire goes out the left side.
It goes with the black of the 12/3 correct? This is not conduit is it?

I would suspect the 12/3 will go to either the switch, light, or one of the receptacles in the room where the panel is. That is where I would start.
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-14, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is with the black.
No conduit, it's romex.
I find no power anywhere. It must be chewed through (though I see no signs of vermin) or there could be a hidden j box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: