where do I connect the white wire?


  #1  
Old 03-02-14, 01:47 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
where do I connect the white wire?

Trying To Wire 240 Volt 30 Amp Receptacle To My SuB box. Have A New 30 Amp Breaker And 8/3 Nmb Wiring. Problem Is I Don't Know Where To Put The White Wire. Is My SuB c Box WireCorrectly?
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 03-02-14, 01:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

No.... your sub panel is not wired correctly. It required three wires and a ground.
You are missing the neutral.

There should be a neutral wire connected to the block where the ground currently is and there should be an additional block added for ground connections.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-14, 01:57 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Your white wire should be attached to the neutral buss, and since it is a sub panel, you should have a grounding buss attached to (not isolated) to which your grounding rod electrode and bare from your service is attached.

Pete types faster than me.
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-14, 02:00 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank You. It Doesn't Appear That There Is Room For Another BaR, Do I Have To Replace The Box? Thanks FoR Such A Quick Response!
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-14, 03:00 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 189
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
White Wire

You need to install a bushing on the conduit that has the conductors supplying your panel.
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-14, 03:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
You need to install a bushing on the conduit that has the conductors supplying your panel.
Why? The conductors do not look large enough to require a bushing. Also if the cable is SE the connector should already have a smooth rounded edge.

The panel label should show where a ground bar can be added to the panel.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 03-02-14 at 03:24 PM.
  #7  
Old 03-02-14, 03:24 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 189
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bushings

The conductors feeding the box look like at least #4 to me, but I could be wrong. What size are they? The conduit thread is extending so far into the box that it looks like the wire is already bent into the sharp edge. 344.46 says wires need a bushing to be protected and that looks like rigid or running thread and not an EMT box connector. Wire needs to be protected 300.4(G) just says it's mandatory for #4 and larger not that anything under #4 does not need a bushing.
 
  #8  
Old 03-02-14, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
It looks like two holes above the breakers for a ground bar. Since it's a pipe nipple entering the box it could indeed use a bushing.

Name:  box.jpg
Views: 484
Size:  30.7 KB
 
  #9  
Old 03-03-14, 05:03 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Everyone, I Appreciate The Help. I'll Add ThE Bar And Bushing As Suggested. Do I Simply Run A White Wire From The Neutral Bus In The Service Panel To The Existing Bus In ThE Sub Panel Or Do I Need To Replace The Existing Wire With new 6/3 Nmb ThaT Contains All Wires I Need?
 
  #10  
Old 03-03-14, 06:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If the original wiring to the subpanel was NM-b you can't just add a white wire. If it was NM-b not in conduit replace it with new 3-conductor NM-b based on the feeder breaker size. If it was xx-2 NM-b in continuous conduit replace with four THWN sized to feeder breaker. If this is not in the same building as the main breaker you probably can't use NM-b and you will need a ground rod.
 
  #11  
Old 03-03-14, 06:49 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Neutral from existing panel buss to subpanel buss. Was there no neutral with the SE you pulled to the sub panel? Needs to be one to the neutral bar. (Edit: I see the braid) Also, I lose track of your neutral from your outgoing cable in the lower right. It is not attached to the buss bar that I can see. You've gotta take the entering cable loose to install the bushing, so may as well run the neutral.
 
  #12  
Old 03-03-14, 07:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
If that is a pipe connector or nipple I agree with the need for a bushing.

It looked like SE-U cable where SE-R or individual conductors should have been used.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: