Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How many amps come off the pole to my service panel? How many do I need?

How many amps come off the pole to my service panel? How many do I need?


  #1  
Old 03-02-14, 03:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How many amps come off the pole to my service panel? How many do I need?

I'm building a workshop at my house, sort of a big garage. Anyhow, when I talk to BGE, I want to know what I'm talking about. Currently, I have a 100amp breaker box in my home. I posted another thread here about the cost to upgrade the box. This thread is about how many amps I should be looking for.

Is a 200amp box good enough? Would I just run my shop off of a 50amp breaker from my main service panel?

What are the suggestions on how to power my shop? Common practices?

Thanks!


Oh, the shop will be a basic wood working shop. I'll have a window air conditioner - probably on its own breaker. I'll be heating it with a wood stove. Many receptacles to run tools like a planer, band saw, table saw, etc... As far as lighting, I will probably go with a low energy LED setup. Shop will likely be about 16'x30'.
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-14, 04:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The load will depend on the nameplate data of the shop equipment. BGE is going to want to see a load calculation on the application for any service increase.

Many times a 50 amp feeder to a project like yours is plenty.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-14, 04:43 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Is a 200amp box good enough?
Foe what? For a replacement for your main panel? If so, that's part of the answer to your other thread.

Would I just run my shop off of a 50amp breaker from my main service panel?
I would install a 60A breaker to feed a subpanel in the shop. You need to do a load calculation, as PCboss suggested.

What are the suggestions on how to power my shop? Common practices?
See Sub Panel Diagrams.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: