Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Square D 30A Disconnect Switch L211N -- Fused or Unfused -- Can it be Both?

Square D 30A Disconnect Switch L211N -- Fused or Unfused -- Can it be Both?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-03-14, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Square D 30A Disconnect Switch L211N -- Fused or Unfused -- Can it be Both?

I see a small inside use disconnect switch, and it seems to be advertised by various sellers as Fused or Unfused. (Same Model)

What I am having trouble understanding is how the switch can be both.

Is it possible to configure the Switch to be un-fused (still using the existing service panel breaker) and then just use it unfused by the equipment being served?

Example - Easy way for anyone to shut off a seasonal use water heater where weeks pass by with out use -- and allowing anyone to use the switch right by the Water Heater rather than opening up the breaker panel.

I would prefer not to have both the panel breaker and switch be fused, just the panel breaker.

Your One Source L211N 30a Non-Fus/Indr Safety Switch - Amazon.com

Is the advertisement in-correct, or can the L211N be configured fused or unfused?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-03-14, 11:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
I can understand your confusion because I'm confused too.

That disconnect is shown as a non fused disconnect.
Yet when you dig for the description is says.....
30A Light Duty Safety Switch, 2 Plug Fuse, Fusible, 3 Wire, 120/240V, Indoor Use Only.
It isn't just at Amazon... it's the listed the same way everywhere I've seen it.
I, personally, have never used one that can be both fused or non-fused.
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-14, 11:31 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Not familiar with the switch but I wonder if there are jumpers that can be removed when used as a fused switch.
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-14, 11:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Believe an un-fused one just has a pull connection to sever power.

Fused has round fuse harnesses on each side just in case of surge. U must put in fuses to work that don't exceed the disconnect's capacity (30 amp).

Either way, it's a matter of what's down the line you wish to protect. Lights, outlets and other minor stuff, no fuse protection. Sensitive electronics or pumps and such, always fused to protect your investment.
 
  #5  
Old 03-03-14, 12:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
This is a knife style disconnect. Not a pullout.

Name:  dd.jpg
Views: 1060
Size:  6.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-03-14, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Check This Link - bottom of page 3-2 (1st page) - seems to indicate "3 Wire - 2 blades and fuse Holders , 1 Neutral "

http://stevenengineering.com/pdf/45SAFETYSW_LD.PDF

Interchangeable ? (use either blades or fuse holders?)
 
  #7  
Old 03-03-14, 01:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Looks like it is Fused Only, email reply from Square D :

The L211N is only available as fused. A non-fused version of this light duty
safety switch is not available. It is not possible to use it without fuses.
 
  #8  
Old 03-03-14, 02:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Thanks for the word from the ultimate source.
 
  #9  
Old 03-03-14, 06:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
It's kind of pricey just for a water heater disconnect when an air-conditioning disconnect can be bought from a big box for under $10 without any shipping cost.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes