2 110V breakers to get 220V?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-03-14, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
2 110V breakers to get 220V?

Is it possible to steal off of 2 separate outlets from 2 separate breakers to establish a 220V outlet to run a motor in my barn? I rewired the motor to 110 but it seems to have a very hard time getting going in cold weather. I think it would help to have it on 220 but running wires to the barn right now is not an option. Will the outlets I stole from still be ok to use as 110V.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-03-14, 04:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
I should have added that the motor pulls 13 amps at 110 and 6.5 at 220
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-14, 05:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Welcome to the forums.

The distance to the barn is probably what is hindering the correct 120v operation of that motor.

If you have 240v to the barn why not install a proper receptacle for that motor.
Is there a sub panel out there ?
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-14, 05:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
If all you have is a 120 volt circuit, that's all you can get. Voltage is not additive on one leg, no matter how many times you stack it. Your house is provided with 240 volts derived from two legs providing 120 volts each. In order to acquire the 240 volts, you must combine from the two legs, so running a dedicated circuit for 240 volts is your only option. Your situation is exactly why all my machinery that will adapt, are wired for 240 volts. Not saving any money, since a watt is a watt, but spool up speed is enormously helped at the higher voltage, and stalling is prevented greatly.
 
  #5  
Old 03-03-14, 05:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
You house has neither 110 or 210. It has 120 and 240 (±10%). Theoretically what you propose would work if the receptacles were on opposite legs of the 240 to your house but it is a major code violation and unsafe. You mention power to the barn. By code you can only have one circuit to a detached structure so unless the circuit to your barn is multiwire you do not have 240 at the barn, only a single leg of the 240 and a neutral. You don't have the second leg of the 240 so your idea wouldn't work anyway..
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 03-03-14 at 06:57 PM. Reason: changed % number
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes