Electrician education/ licensing

Old 03-06-14, 11:05 AM
Electrician education/ licensing

If this is the wrong place to post, please remove or delete. I was hoping some experienced poster/ electrician might offer some advice:

I have a full time office IT job; family, kids, etc. I hold a bachelor's and a master's degree. I'm not actively looking for a career change, however I wouldn't mind diversifying myself by becoming educated and possibly certified as an electrician on a part-time basis. I have an interest in the space and someday would like to own rental property. I also would like to have a "fall-back" plan should I tire of the IT gig or lose employment...maybe make a little money on nights and weekends.

Is it possible to become licensed as an electrician without being employed as one?
Is it possible to self-educate and pass an exam? Or attend an electrical school part-time and pass an exam (there is actually a Lincoln Technical Institute minutes from my house)
Does this sound unattainable or a crazy pipe dream?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-14, 11:13 AM
Electrician

Check the licensing requirements for the sate of New York. I doubt if an apprenticeship is required. The state licensing authority should be able to provide reliable training sites. The one you mentioned would be the one to investigate first.

Old 03-06-14, 11:22 AM
I can't quote NY requirements, But in Maine and NJ it requires (or did) 5 years of apprenticeship. I instructed a relative through his first two years of school requirements so he could jump to his 3rd and 4th year of classes, commercial rating. He already had many years as a residential electrician and still had to jump through many hoops.

As Wirepuller said, see if you can find NY requirements. Or maybe someone here will jump in.

Bud

Old 03-06-14, 11:46 AM
Actually, we will be moving to CT soon, so that would probably be my residence.

DCP: Electrical License Types and Scope of Work