one switch and three wall sconces junction box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-14, 06:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
one switch and three wall sconces junction box?

I am installing three wall sconces and was wondering if I could bring power to the switch, then go up to a junction box, that has one 12/2 going to each fixture, rather than having two go to each one? If so, I assuming I join all the blacks together and all the whites in the junction box?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-14, 06:39 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
Welcome to the forums!

What you describe would work, however the junction box would be required to be permanently accessible. You could just run a switch leg from the switch box, to each light fixture box, if the switch box is big enough (cubic inches), or just daisy chain the fixture boxes like this:

Switch box------> light--------> light--------> light
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-14, 07:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
I wanted to wire it whatever way would prevent me from running two romex cables to the first two lights, however I will if I have to
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-14, 08:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
You can use a single cable from a junction box to each scone but like Tolyn mentioned.... the junction box would need to be installed where it was always accessible.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-08-14 at 09:00 AM. Reason: wire>cable
  #5  
Old 03-08-14, 11:53 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
Is there a reason you do not want multiple cables in the light boxes? Most cases it is easier to daisy chain lights.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-14, 12:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
I thought it would be harder to daisy chain it, rather than just run one romex up to a central point, then add the power from the switch. All you guys think the daisy chain is easier?
 
  #7  
Old 03-08-14, 12:34 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
As long as the fixture boxes have enough cubic inch capacity (at least 14 CI), yes. Having a junction box is more work than it is worth.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'