Low voltage on service mast

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-14, 04:15 PM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
Low voltage on service mast

What code cycle included that low voltage cannot be attached to the mast?

Is this a bad thing? Surely not uncommon?

I called the Telco because the electrician left a temporary attachment of the phone and cable to my mast. Telco just came over, lowered about 2 ft from the service feeders at clamped it to the mast again. I assume the cable company will do the same.

How should I proceed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-14, 04:28 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Not sure if it has been addressed in code. If the phone and cable are spaced below the mast head by a couple of feet, then it would be no different than the phone lines attached to the power pole. They must maintain spacing between the two, but cable and phone are on the same pole. I am assuming your mast is above the roof, and not on the side of the house as was prevalent early on.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-14, 05:00 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Article 230.28 addresses this issue. Only power service are to be attached to the mast.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-14, 05:10 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Roger that. Thanks, Jim. I just knew it was done on external masts, below roof lines. Good to know.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-14, 05:17 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
So what options do I have, including the type of material, to get this off the mast and hooked up at the soffit level I suppose?
 
  #6  
Old 03-09-14, 05:57 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
  #7  
Old 03-09-14, 08:22 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
Theres a similar clasp on both cables now. You mention hook eye into rafter tail... what does that look like?

Would I screw into the wood that my gutters are attached too?
 
  #8  
Old 03-09-14, 11:20 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yes, but look for nail heads, which would indicate the end of a rafter tail. Often fascias are only 1x lumber and may tear out with pull.
 
  #9  
Old 03-09-14, 12:19 PM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
I was looking this morning. I can see there is probably 1x along the whole facia and soffit bottom. Its been covered in aluminum so I don't see a way to find the tails.

What type of clamp is usually used to attach to a mast? In this case 2 inches. In which you would hook the low voltage too (which already has those rings grips you mention. )
 
  #10  
Old 03-09-14, 08:15 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
What type of clamp is usually used to attach to a mast? In this case 2 inches. In which you would hook the low voltage too (which already has those rings grips you mention. )
There is no clamp usually used to connect low voltage to a mast because it isn't usually done and shouldn't be done since it's a code violation.
 
  #11  
Old 03-10-14, 04:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
It has been my experience that the phone company does pretty much what they darn well please . About the same for the cable company .

If you move their point of attachment down to the soffet , is it going to make their cables swing too low to the ground ?

God bless
Wyr
 
  #12  
Old 03-10-14, 07:36 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
If you move their point of attachment down to the soffet , is it going to make their cables swing too low to the ground ?
Probably will. The only time I ever saw this done was for that very reason.

It has been my experience that the phone company does pretty much what they darn well please . About the same for the cable company .
I'd have to agree with that statement, they just don't care.
 
  #13  
Old 03-10-14, 07:43 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
It would drop the line almost to ground to get it to go at the soffit.... I figure they would just make up their slack though....

We have a one story home, is that why its on the mast?

Is it going to look screwy if its at the soffit level? Am I supposed to have a second mast?
 
  #14  
Old 03-10-14, 07:55 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
We have a one story home, is that why its on the mast?

Is it going to look screwy if its at the soffit level? Am I supposed to have a second mast?
Yes, that's probably why they put it on the mast. It was cheaper than the cost of having a pole set closer to your house. Look at it this way, what would the telephone company do if you had an underground electric service?
 
  #15  
Old 03-10-14, 07:57 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
If they make up the slack, and it came in at the soffit level... Is that not a typical installation?
 
  #16  
Old 03-10-14, 08:00 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You could add a second mast for the telco. I've never done it, but I see it once in awhile.
 
  #17  
Old 03-10-14, 08:05 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
If they make up the slack, and it came in at the soffit level... Is that not a typical installation?
Yep, pretty typical. The one time I saw both cable and telephone on the mast was a situation where the house was lower than street level and the pole was across the street. The only way the telephone company could run their lines overhead and maintain proper clearances over the street, without setting their own pole on the same side of the street as the house, was a high attachment to the house.
 
  #18  
Old 03-10-14, 10:57 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
I got them back out this morning and he screwed a hook under the eave and made up the slack. After he left I put the comcast on the same hook and removed the clamp on the mast.

At first they gave me a 2 week time frame for appointment..... then I told them its up by the high voltage and that I cant wait two weeks and that I may have to move it myself since I have inspectors and electricians breathing down my neck (I don't, I thinks its allowed here despite being against NEC)..... anyway..... they were out within 3 hours! lol. Liability concerns perhaps?
 
  #19  
Old 03-10-14, 01:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for the followup.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes