Cables in yard?


  #1  
Old 03-08-14, 06:27 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 38
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cables in yard?

See image: http://i.imgur.com/m53I9wvh.jpg

You'll see on the right what I've been told is a ground.
On the left, coming out of the crawl space is something else. The only thing I can guess is that it goes to the garage, but the garage does not have power, though it once did before we bought the home two months ago.

I need to dig deeper and further to the right. This would uncover both of those lines. What are my options?

edit: There are two ground rods, one of which can be seen just to the right, on the edge of the digging area. Can I move that rod?
 

Last edited by uRabbit; 03-08-14 at 08:59 PM.
  #2  
Old 03-08-14, 06:33 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I can't tell much from that pic. Where do they go on the inside?
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-14, 06:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,140 Upvotes on 3,718 Posts
Your options are to dig further and deeper. We could only guess from here.
Looks kind of far from the house for a ground. If it was, you should find a ground rod at the end of it.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-14, 08:58 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 38
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I meant to mention that. There are two ground rods. One can be seen in the image just to the right of where I've dug (right on the edge there).

Can I move the rod? I would like to dig further to the right.
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-14, 09:38 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
The rod should be 8 foot in the ground. You will have a tough time moving it. Also if this is the first rod the wire needs to be unbroken all the way to the panel. It also need to be at least 6 foot from the second rod.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-14, 10:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,140 Upvotes on 3,718 Posts
You can install another rod and move the wire to the new one as long as the spacing is as PC boss mentions. It's not likely you'll be able to get the old one out of the ground.
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-14, 07:10 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 38
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you both.

Hmm. So what I'm doing is building a retaining wall and bringing the level of the ground down below the entry to the crawl space to prevent further water intrusion. This ground rod would be sticking out of the ground about four inches if I dig around it. It won't really be in the way of accessing the crawl space at all, so I should be good to continue on, yes?
 
  #8  
Old 03-09-14, 10:26 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
Drive the rod down till flush with the soil.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: