Reconciling Range plug with wall outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-14, 08:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reconciling Range plug with wall outlet

Hi everyone. I have a range with a fairly standard cord and male plug - like this one Shop Utilitech 50-Amp 125/250-Volt Black 3-Wire Plug at Lowes.com

However, in the kitchen my house has a different receptacle, like this one - Shop Utilitech 50-Amp Surface-Mount Appliance Electrical Outlet at Lowes.com which I have never seen in a kitchen before.

The big box home improvement stores don't seem to have a ready-made solution, and it's looking like I may end up doing some wiring. I'd rather change the plug on the range if possible. What is the easiest way to go about this? Thanks everyone!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-14, 07:15 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,555
Received 315 Votes on 289 Posts
The cord on the stove can be pretty easily replaced. Generally there is a separate, removable cover so you don't have to remove the entire back to get at the connections.

Many appliances are not sold with a cord and the correct one must be purchased and installed to match the house. It's also a common problem with dryers as older houses have a 3 hole receptacle and newer have 4.
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-14, 08:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this the receptacle you have:

Name:  6-50p.jpg
Views: 714
Size:  6.7 KB

If so it is a 240 volt grounded receptacle. You need a 120/240 3 wire receptacle. You need to open the receptacle and see if you have white, black, red. If you do have a NEMA 6-50R and the wires are correct replace with the correct receptacle, NEMA 10-50R. If you have white black bare the wiring is not code compliant.

Assumes you don't have metal conduit.
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-14, 08:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,435
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
That wall receptacle looks like a 240 only that is not meant for a range. Should be replaced with standard 10-50R. Take cover off and verify that there are only 3 wires. If 4 then should use 14-50R
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-14, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I cut the power and took a look this morning. I have what looked to be red and black (although the insulation was dirty so I am probably mistaken) and a bare wire. The house is from 1960, though the receptacle was clearly installed recently. Incidentally, my oven is from 1960 as well.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-14, 11:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sounds like 2-conductor SE. That was probably never code compliant. You need to run a new 6-3 NM-b cable (white, black, red, bare), install a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, and change the cord on the stove to a 14-50 four prong plug. Follow the manufactures instructions for converting the stove to four wire.
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-14, 12:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just realized there was some ambiguity in my previous post when describing the wires. There are two insulated wires and a third, un-insulated wire that I take to be the ground.
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-14, 12:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, I understood your post.
 
  #9  
Old 03-13-14, 12:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,435
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
SE was allowed as long as going back to main panel.
Just change outlet to this and be done with it. Shop Cooper Wiring Devices 50-Amp Surface-Mount Appliance Electrical Outlet at Lowes.com
 
  #10  
Old 03-13-14, 01:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please cite code that allows bare neutral in this situation.
 
  #11  
Old 03-13-14, 08:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,435
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
2011 NEC 250.140
Exception: For existing branch-circuit installations only where an equipment grounding conductor is not present in the outlet or junction box, the frames of electric ranges, wall-mounted ovens, counter-mounted cooking units, clothes dryers, and outlet or junction boxes that are part of the circuit for these appliances shall be permitted to be connected to the grounded circuit conductor if all of the following conditions are met.

(1) The supply circuit is 120/240-volt, single-phase, 3-wire; or 208Y/120-volt derived from a 3-phase, 4-wire, wye-connected system.
(2) The grounded conductor is not smaller than 10 AWG copper or 8 AWG aluminum.
(3) The grounded conductor is insulated, or the grounded conductor is uninsulated and part of a Type SE service-entrance cable and the branch circuit originates at the service equipment.
(4) Grounding contacts of receptacle furnished as part of the equipment are bonded to the equipment.
 
  #12  
Old 03-13-14, 08:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
SE cable could be used for a range. Two wire +ground NM was not legal for a stove.
 
  #13  
Old 03-13-14, 08:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thank you for the clarification.
 
  #14  
Old 03-14-14, 10:56 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,275
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
Two wire +ground NM was not legal for a stove.
Nor was it ever legal for a dryer, but I sure used to see it a lot 30 years ago and occasionally still see an older installation with it.
 
  #15  
Old 03-14-14, 11:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I know now I was wrong to question the SE but NM not being compliant and SE being compliant seems such a contradiction... and again the NEC authors manage to puzzle us.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: