AC disonnect questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-14, 06:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
AC disonnect questions

Did some landscaping and pulled the disconnect on my AC to move the power cable.

Two questions.

Do I need to turn off the breaker in the main panel to reinsert the disconnect plug?

Also, is it considered a safety hazard that I do not have a fused disconnect outside? Im only protected by the breaker inside the house?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-14, 06:33 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
The breaker inside is all you need.
It would be best if you shut off the breaker so there was no arcing.
There was no reason to pull the disconnect to just move the cable out of the way.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-14, 06:36 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
If you only replaced the wiring between the disconnect and the unit you can just insert the pullout. It would have been safer to do the wiring with the breaker off to the disconnect.

A fused disconnect is only needed if your unit specifically calls for fused protection.
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-14, 06:54 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
A fused disconnect is only needed if your unit specifically calls for fused protection.
Or if the unit's nameplate MOPD listed is smaller then the circuit breaker protecting the circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-14, 07:19 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Did you just lift and move the cable to get it out of the way, or did you move the whole disconnect box on the wall?
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-14, 10:34 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
pulled the disconnect on my AC to move the power cable.
What cable? Do you just have a cable connecting your A-C unit to the disconnect?
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-14, 01:36 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 10
You need both

According to ART 440.14 the disconnecting means shall be located within sight from and readily accessible from the air conditioning or refrigeration equipment.
 
  #8  
Old 05-09-14, 07:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
You're a little late to the party, Stewball, in fact two months late, but I'm intrigued.
You need both
Both what? A disconnect does NOT necessarily need to be fused. Please explain.
 
  #9  
Old 05-10-14, 08:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
A means of disconnect is required, but it does not need to be fused unless the unit calls for fuse protection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'