J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
outlet wiring - polarity reversed

Name:  outlet.jpg
Views: 6172
Size:  46.1 KB

Hello,

I'm new to wiring and looking for some help.

I tested one of my non-GFCI duplex receptacle outlets with a circuit tester and it said the polarity was reversed.

I pulled the outlet out expecting to have to swap the hot and neutral wires but found something more complicated. I removed the outlet and capped the wires except the two black ones in back, which were already capped together. The outlet was originally wired with the two whites, one red, and the ground. (I wish I took a picture of the original...)

The outlet was wired to a light switch (I think the switch activated both the top and bottom.) I tested each wire to see which were hot and attached a picture labeling what I found.

I'd like to know the following.
1.) Why was this wired this way?
2.) How do I correctly hook these wires up to the duplex receptacle?
3.) Is having a hot white wire a code violation?

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-24-14, 03:37 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums. Switch loop white wires are common, but they need to be remarked as black using a marker or black tape. In your case, however, the constantly hot white is of concern, since your red is switch controlled. What is all the "stuff" in the switch box? Makes diagnosis awfully difficult. Where were the wires located on the original receptacle, in relation to each other? Was the tab broken between the two hot (brass) screws?

Old 02-25-14, 10:11 PM
J
The previous owner did some texturing so that's why the cables are a bit obscured. The white and red wires on the left are to the left cable and the black and white on the right are to the right cable.

The tab was NOT broken between the two hot screws. Unfortunately I don't know how it was originally wired to give the reversed polarity...

Old 02-25-14, 10:35 PM
Group Moderator