2nd floor subpanel


  #1  
Old 03-19-14, 05:48 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
2nd floor subpanel

im trying to put a 100 amp sub panel on my second floor it says I need 2 2 2 4. all that is available is 1/0 1/0 1/0-2 alum. is that ok to use?
 
  #2  
Old 03-19-14, 06:48 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,272
Received 860 Upvotes on 723 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I have moved your post to it's own thread so that it gets the attention it deserves. In the future please start a new thread instead of posting to an existing one.

Even though the panel is rated for 100 amps, you are not required to feed it with 100 amps. The 100 amps is the MAX rating. What loads will be on the new sub panel? What wiring method are you planning to use (Conduit, Cable)?

Adding your location would also be helpful to give the best advice.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-19-14 at 07:40 PM.
  #3  
Old 03-19-14, 07:18 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
im trying to put a 100 amp sub panel on my second floor it says I need 2 2 2 4. all that is available is 1/0 1/0 1/0-2 alum. is that ok to use?
If you are talking about aluminum SER cable, yes, the 1/0 SER would be fine for 100 amps, but I seriously doubt you need that much power up there unless you are adding some heavy loads such as electric baseboard heating. Assuming just a typical 2 story home, I'd probably not run any more than a 60 amp circuit to the subpanel. I'd use 6-3 NM-B cable (aka romex).
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: