Safe to use a 50 ft #10 extension cord

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-14, 07:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Question Safe to use a 50 ft #10 extension cord

With a 100 ft #12 cord and not have to worry about voltage drop? I have a 15A snow blower and want to make sure it's getting as much voltage as possible. I thought everything was cool until I was told to take the length of the circuit and wiring gauge into consideration. On the front of my house I only have 15A breakers powering all the outlets using #14 solid copper wire. I don't know the total length of the entire circuit.

But I do have a 20A breaker with #12 wire about 15 ft from the panel in my basement. Its used only for the washing machine and nothing else. If it's safe I could use that outlet to run a 10 gauge extension cord to the front of my house and plug the 12 gauge into that to power the blower...?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-14, 07:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Welcome to the forums.

You might be taking things a little extreme. Did you have problems with the snowblower actually stalling or slowing down that could be power related ?

You can use a #10 extension cord with no problem. It can't deliver any more than the circuit can provide.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-14, 02:46 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Don't forget, unless the washer receptacle may not be GFCI protected, so you may need something like this Tower Manufacturing Corporation, 3 Wire GFCI Outlet Adapter, 30339005 at The Home Depot - Tablet
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-14, 08:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Is the snow blower new or old ?
If new,I'd say return it and get a Toro single stage gas.

Electricity is not your problem. Your sig. shows Chicago..
A electric will handle a list dusting but even a 2" of the wet stuff, it will struggle.
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-14, 12:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
@PJmax Thanks. I don't recall having any of those issues when I used it on the 15A circuits. I still had to make sure everything else was off of course.

@chandler Check. I actually have a portable one too. Barely gets used anymore though.

@pingable The electric one is about 4 months old. My friend gave it to me after he brought a two stage blower. I can't remember the name brand. I have a Yard Machines single stage, but I forgot to buy gas before that last snow fall we had. And it was that wet/heavy snow too. The electric didn't do too bad, but it did seem to take a little longer than if I had used my gas blower.
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-14, 12:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
If I was to make a cord, you still putting $$$ into a good cord setup. SOOW or if maybe something uber flexiable *which is a + in cold weather climates* like a Seoprene 10/3. Add in good quality Hubbell connectors.

I dunno. I would rather put the $$ towards a good Toro single stage. Not all single stages perform the same.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'