110v Outlet not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-14, 08:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
110v Outlet not working

Hello, I have an outlet that is not working for some reason. I pulled out the outlet and even hooked up a brand new one, still no luck. Every other outlet and switch, to my knowledge works. Is it possible that this one outlet may have it's own breaker and that breaker needs replaced? It's a very old house, built in 1923.
Thanks! Jack
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-14, 09:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Are there any GFI receptacles connected to the "old wiring"?
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-14, 09:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Your receptacle is 120 volts. If your not sure of which breaker it is on one by one turn each 15 and 20 amp single pole breaker off then on and test after each breaker. How many cables* in the box? Also it may be helpful to read: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ther-info.html if you haven't already.

*Cable is two or more wires in a metallic or non metallic sheath (Romex Bx, etc.)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'