Circuit Breaker Compatibility

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-14, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,375
Circuit Breaker Compatibility

I have a 30 year-old 200 Amp Gould ITE panel and the label says to only use Type QP, QT, QPF, QPH, QPHF, or HQP breakers. Most of the breakers are either QP or QT, but one of the 20 amp breakers is a Type HOM. It fits and it works, but if it poses some sort of hazard I'd like to replace it. The panel has a warning that says use of any other type of breaker can cause personal injury or property damage.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-14, 08:54 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Is the "HOM" breaker made by Gould, I-T-E or Siemens? If not, I would replace it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-14, 05:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
HOM series is Homeline SQD I am surprised it would fit in that panel.replace it
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-14, 06:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,375
What exactly is the hazard? It fits nice and snug. I don't see the issue.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-14, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,375
Something I came across online. Apparently the Homeline series is compatible with Gould, at least according to this person. If the form factor is the same, then what exactly is the issue?

Is square D breakers compatible with gould breakers
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-14, 08:31 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
What exactly is the hazard? It fits nice and snug. I don't see the issue.
Do you think anyone here can answer that question?

None of us works for Underwriters Laboratory or any other rating company. Even if we did, we might not know the answer unless we were directly involved in the process of testing breakers for compatibility with specific ITE panels or, more likely, directly involved in checking, verifying and certifying the test data and other information submitted to us by ITE.

Even if one of us was directly involved in that process and knew, or thought we knew, the answer to your question, we wouldn't make that information public for several reasons. Two quick examples are that it's a matter of professional judgement and that it involves privileged or proprietary information. A third reason is that one likely outcome -- perhaps the likeliest -- is that releasing the information is an invitation to second-guess it, a process which serves no one's interests.

If you would like to have the Homeline Square D breaker that's in your panel tested for compatibility, you're welcome to submit a request for that to UL or any other testing agency. You should be prepared to cover the cost of the work.

Something I came across online. Apparently the Homeline series is compatible with Gould, at least according to this person. If the form factor is the same, then what exactly is the issue?

Is square D breakers compatible with gould breakers
As you noted, that "answer" is the unsupported opinion of the person who posted it. There is nothing there to suggest that the compatibility has been tested and certified. There is also nothing posted to suggest that the person who said it is qualified to make that determination.

"The problem with quotes on the Internet is that it is hard to verify their authenticity."
Abraham Lincoln (source: the Internet -- aka urbanlegends.about.com)
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 03-27-14 at 02:42 PM.
  #7  
Old 03-27-14, 09:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,375
Just emailed Schneider Electric. We'll see what they have to say.

Guess I should have known, of course they say only to use Square D breakers in a Square D panel because they don't test other breakers in their panels. I'll swap it out for a Siemens Type QT just to be safe.
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-14, 10:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
Some breakers appear to fit and will function in other brands of panels. Just because they fit does not mean that the connection to the bus is proper or that they will function properly.

Manufacturers are unwilling to shell out for the testing process on other brands of panels. It is easier just to list your breakers with your panel so there is a known factor.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'