How to use grounding wirenut?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-29-14, 01:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to use grounding wirenut?

How do you use a green wirenut with the pigtail hole in the top? You wouldn't be pretwisting the wires obiviously.....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-29-14, 01:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
You leave one bare grounding conductor long and then cut the rest fairly short although still long enough to extend outside the box. Thread the wire nut on the long wire and then match up the rest and screw down the wire nut. And yes, you could pre-twist all of the wires if you so desired.
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-14, 01:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
im having a hard time picturing pretwisting the bundle of wires with one 8 inches longer than the rest.....

So then the pigtail is attached to the box?
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-14, 01:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
You can wrap the ground screw with one of the conductors before the splice. The end out of the wirenut goes to the device.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-14, 01:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
So don't worry about pre-twisting, it isn't necessary anyway. If you have a metal box then yes, connect the tail to the box. If you have a plastic box then connect the tail to the device's grounding screw.
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-14, 02:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Here is one picture, although the part out of the cap is too short.
Greenie® Grounding Connector
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-14, 02:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Here is a more accurate view:
Name:  Gren_Wire_nut.jpg
Views: 206
Size:  3.9 KB
 
  #8  
Old 03-29-14, 07:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
You wouldn't be pretwisting the wires obiviously.....
Why not? Just a couple twists with lineman pliers and cut off all the tails except for the longest one, then apply the Greenie.
 
  #9  
Old 03-31-14, 12:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally wrapped my mind around it with some scrap wire and a green wirenut. I don't see any application in my house where I will ever use them though!!! [email protected]
 
  #10  
Old 03-31-14, 01:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I don't see any application in my house where I will ever use them though
What you never intend to ever install any lights or receptacles that have more than one cable in the box?
 
  #11  
Old 03-31-14, 08:28 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Finally wrapped my mind around it with some scrap wire and a green wirenut. I don't see any application in my house where I will ever use them though!!! [email protected]
You do not have to use the Greenies with the hole in the end, you can still simply pigtail your grounds and secure the twisted splice with a normal type wire nut. Regardless of which type you use, a wire nut is required for splicing the grounds together.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: