Add a new circuit: fuses, not breakers

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-14, 06:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 52
Add a new circuit: fuses, not breakers

Hello,

I've got everything all set up for the new circuit except for actually connecting it to the fuse box. I've looked online for guides, but everything references the newer breaker panels.
Are there any significant differences or steps I need to take?

There is already a block with only one actual fuse (out of two) in use... Does this mean the empty fuse spot is a place for me to add a new circuit? Just looking for 15amps to run my sump pump.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-14, 07:10 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Your hot will connect to the screw near the fuse instead of the breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-14, 07:27 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Fuse boxes were the standard back when all 120 volt circuits were installed with ungrounded NM cable and fed 2-wire receptacles. Most of the older fuse boxes just don't have enough available terminatuion screws on the neutral bus for grounded circuits we need today.

There is already a block with only one actual fuse (out of two) in use... Does this mean the empty fuse spot is a place for me to add a new circuit?
The available spot for a fuse might be for another circuit or it could also be a bad socket that has been abandoned. You really need to think about upgrading your service with a modern circuit breaker panel.
 
  #4  
Old 03-30-14, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 52
Thought about it, but it's not in the budget. Or, rather, other things should be done first. (yay for home ownership).

There is definitely something fishy, though. But if it becomes an issue I shall create a relevant thread.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes