Adding a 110-120 circuit off a 220 breaker panel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-14, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Question Adding a 110-120 circuit off a 220 breaker panel?

I have a 220V panel that isn't being used for anything right now. I need to run a regular circuit off the 220V for a set of ceiling fans. I have attached a picture of the panel and how it's currently set up. Can i just add a 110V breaker and run the new 3 wires (green, black, white)? if so how?

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-14, 12:45 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
It's a single pole breaker 15 amp. breaker, not a 110 volt breaker you need.
Looks like there's three breakers on the bottom right hand side with no wires going to them.
If ones a 15 amp use it, if it's more replace it.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-14, 01:03 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

That isn't a 220V panel. Those don't exist. If this was in your home and only had two hot feed wires, I'd say it was a 120/240V panel.

Your picture shows a panel that has three hot conductors attached, plus a neutral. That's a 3-phase commercial panel. What is the space it's serving?

Since the three incoming feeders are marked as black, red and blue, this is probably a 120/208V panel. To confirm that, use a meter set to more that 240V AC to test fro voltage between each of the feed lugs at the bottom and the neutral lug at the bottom left. If I'm right, you should see 120V AC between each feeder and neutral. Then test between each pair of feed lugs - black to red, black to blue and red to blue. You should see 208V AC across each pair.

If all of the tests come out as predicted, you can install a 120V breaker in any space and use it to feed a 120V circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-14, 03:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Ok so i busted out the volt meter and this is what i got:

The first test (test for voltage between each of the feed lugs at the bottom and the neutral lug at the bottom left). I got between 125V-130V.

The second test (between each pair of feed lugs - black to red, black to blue and red to blue) i got between 225V-230V.

Am i good to pop in a 15amp single pole breaker and wire it neutral to neutral bus, black to breaker, and green to ground bus?

Thanks for the help,
Kyle
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-14, 04:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Yes, you should be okay with a single pole breaker. You have a 4-wire Wye supply. However if this is a commercial space you rent only a licensed electrician should do the work.
 
  #6  
Old 03-28-15, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Figured i should update this since the work has been done forever. Y'all were correct with all the info you provided me. Thanks. I ended up wiring the fans to each other and having an electrician connect then to the breaker box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'