Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

how to wiring single Pole Switch and 3 way switch on the Same Circuit

how to wiring single Pole Switch and 3 way switch on the Same Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-14, 07:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 39
how to wiring single Pole Switch and 3 way switch on the Same Circuit

Hello everyone.

Currently a have a circuit (15amp) working with one single pole switch and 3 lights. The power coming from the panel to the switch.

And now I would like to add on the same circuit 6 recessed lights with a 3 way switch.

That is possible?? How can I do that? Any diagrams ? or where I can find more information?

Thanks in advanced,
 

Last edited by Ro Pavlito; 04-03-14 at 07:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-14, 08:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
While they make combo SPST/SPDT switches for a single gang box since you need to pull the box anyway to fish new cable I'd just go back with a two gang old work box and separate switches at the existing switch location. You will need to a 3 conductor cable to the second new switch location and a 2-conductor cable from that location to the first can light. The remaining can lights will be daisy chained from the first can light.

Name:  q303266_295318_3_way_wiring_1_zpsc2644257.jpg
Views: 67118
Size:  35.6 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-03-14 at 09:16 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-04-14, 06:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 39
Thanks ray2047 for help me.

So To connect the remaining can lights can I use 14/2 from the second switch to the 1 light.
From L1 to L2 #14/2
From L2 to L3 #14/2
From L3 to L4 #14/2
From L4 to L5 #14/2
From L5 to L6 #14/2 and here will be the end of the circuit

That is correct?

Can I replace the second switch for a dimmer?
The circuit will be the same or it will change?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-14, 09:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
If it is a 15 amp circuit you can use #14. 3-way dimmer switches depending on type may need a slave and master but some will work with a regular 3-way switch and a dimmer on the other end.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes