Seperate Bath Light/Fan switch into 2 separate switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-14, 03:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Seperate Bath Light/Fan switch into 2 separate switches

Hi,

I know this has been asked multiple times but I can't seem work out how to do this for my set up and whether it is possible.

I have a switch operating the bath fan and light and wish to separate them into 2 switches. Below is how it is currently wired. Is it possible? I am not sure as there are only 2 cables coming in.

The B/R/W numbers are just to help in answering where I would connect them.

Thanks!


Name:  Bath Fan Switch.jpg
Views: 6959
Size:  25.3 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-14, 03:45 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Assuming that the unswitched power from the panel comes in on cable 2 and that the switched power goes to the fan/light combo through cable 1, make a pigtail to connect both switches to B5. Connect B2 to one of the switches and R2 to the other. You should only have one splice - for the neutrals - when finished.
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 04-04-14 at 04:49 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-04-14, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick response.

You mentioned Cable 2 twice, I assume you meant Cable 1 goes to the fan/light combo not Cable 2?

I checked the cables with detector and Cable 2 is HOT with the switches off as shown so must go to the panel.

So to confirm is this what the wiring should look like?

Name:  Bath Fan Switch New.jpg
Views: 10783
Size:  31.9 KB
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-14, 04:54 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You mentioned Cable 2 twice, I assume you meant Cable 1 goes to the fan/light combo not Cable 2?
Yes. That's corrected now. Thanks.

So to confirm is this what the wiring should look like?
Yes. And there are two wire nuts. I think I'm getting tired.I would guess that the red wire goes to the lamp. But you can confirm which by only hooking up one and testing before you complete everything.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-14, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Worked perfect - thanks again!

I didn't realize twin switches came with a single common so I didn't need a wire nut to tie B5,B7,B9 - I just wired B5 straight into the twin switch.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-14, 06:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
I didn't realize twin switches came with a single common
The tab can be broken off when not needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: