Seperate Bath Light/Fan switch into 2 separate switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-14, 03:36 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Seperate Bath Light/Fan switch into 2 separate switches

Hi,

I know this has been asked multiple times but I can't seem work out how to do this for my set up and whether it is possible.

I have a switch operating the bath fan and light and wish to separate them into 2 switches. Below is how it is currently wired. Is it possible? I am not sure as there are only 2 cables coming in.

The B/R/W numbers are just to help in answering where I would connect them.

Thanks!


Name:  Bath Fan Switch.jpg
Views: 9987
Size:  25.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-04-14, 03:45 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Assuming that the unswitched power from the panel comes in on cable 2 and that the switched power goes to the fan/light combo through cable 1, make a pigtail to connect both switches to B5. Connect B2 to one of the switches and R2 to the other. You should only have one splice - for the neutrals - when finished.
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 04-04-14 at 04:49 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-04-14, 04:16 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick response.

You mentioned Cable 2 twice, I assume you meant Cable 1 goes to the fan/light combo not Cable 2?

I checked the cables with detector and Cable 2 is HOT with the switches off as shown so must go to the panel.

So to confirm is this what the wiring should look like?

Name:  Bath Fan Switch New.jpg
Views: 16046
Size:  31.9 KB
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-14, 04:54 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You mentioned Cable 2 twice, I assume you meant Cable 1 goes to the fan/light combo not Cable 2?
Yes. That's corrected now. Thanks.

So to confirm is this what the wiring should look like?
Yes. And there are two wire nuts. I think I'm getting tired.I would guess that the red wire goes to the lamp. But you can confirm which by only hooking up one and testing before you complete everything.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-14, 05:58 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Worked perfect - thanks again!

I didn't realize twin switches came with a single common so I didn't need a wire nut to tie B5,B7,B9 - I just wired B5 straight into the twin switch.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-14, 06:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
I didn't realize twin switches came with a single common
The tab can be broken off when not needed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: