Grounding a double gang box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-14, 08:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 29
Grounding a double gang box

When using a double gang receptacle box where both outlets in the box are directly connected to each other, can I ground to just one of the outlets? This is in a conduit/metal box configuration.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-14, 08:54 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Do you have a separate ground run, or is the conduit metallic and used as a ground? Using self grounding receptacles will allow for a continuous ground in a metal box, but if you have a separate ground, it must be screwed to the box via a grounding screw. Need to know the complete set up.
 
  #3  
Old 04-06-14, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 29
The conduit and box are both metal
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-14, 09:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,633
Both receptacles need to be grounded to the box by pigtails unless they are self-grounding.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-14, 02:44 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
both outlets in the box are directly connected to each other,... The conduit and box are both metal.
It sounds like you have a ground wire. If so, that wire needs to be connected to your metal box with a green hex-headed ground screw. And,
Originally Posted by ray2047
Both receptacles need to be grounded to the box by pigtails unless they are self-grounding.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'