circuit breakers


  #1  
Old 04-06-14, 10:23 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
circuit breakers

Separated from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...placement.html

It is possible that the breaker connection to the bus bar has been arcing and has welded itself to the bus bar. In which case, if there is no other available spaces left in the panel for a breaker to be added, a new panel is in your future.

What is the reason for the replacement? I need to replace the circuit breaker serving my clothes dryer. The identification info on the breaker is worn off, but all the other breakers are Bryant type BR, so I assume this one is also. It appears to actually be two identical breakers, but the on/off switches are held together with a metal cover strip. The cover strip has a window that shows that one of the breakers is 30 amp.

The on/off switch handles are green. I have had to replace another breaker before, and I know they from the breaker box. The box has a cartridge that the breaker fits onto.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-06-14 at 11:09 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-07-14, 12:43 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,972
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
There should be a list of acceptable breakers on the label inside the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-14, 07:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I need to replace the circuit breaker serving my clothes dryer. The identification info on the breaker is worn off, but all the other breakers are Bryant type BR, so I assume this one is also. It appears to actually be two identical breakers, but the on/off switches are held together with a metal cover strip. The cover strip has a window that shows that one of the breakers is 30 amp.
Use a Cutler-Hammer BR230, 30A 2P breaker in your Bryant panel.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: