New Recessed Lights/Closet light/Dimmer install

Old 04-09-14, 07:51 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Recessed Lights/Closet light/Dimmer install

Hello all! I'm new to the Do it yourself forum, thought i'd give this site a shot and check out the community.

I bought a house that needed some work, and i've been taking care of repairs, and everything has been going well.

I took down my ceiling in the living room, there was popcorn texture from the 80s/late 70s or something. Since i have easy access to everything I thought i'd install recessed lights, with an associated master and slave dimmer, a ceiling fan and a cheap light in a closet with switch. The lights are phillips led, with phillips lightolier ballast, and have a very low load. The fan I currently don't have, but i'm going to put up a box and a cover plate.

1. Can I tap into existing wiring for all of that, or should i snake a line to the electric supply box, and have everything on one new circuit
2. I'd like to dim the light on the fan along with the recessed lights, but have the fan not be effected by the dimming.

Right now, due to probably bad wiring of previous owner, there are a couple sockets, basement lights, hallway light, outdoor entrance light, and a microwave all on the circuit i'd want to tap into.

using 12-2 NB wire

Thanks again!

Aaron

Old 04-09-14, 08:28 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
he fan I currently don't have, but i'm going to put up a box and a cover plate.
Be sure it is fan rated.
1. Can I tap into existing wiring for all of that, or should i snake a line to the electric supply box, and have everything on one new circuit
Depends on existing load but since it is open I'd suggest a new 15 amp circuit.
2. I'd like to dim the light on the fan along with the recessed lights, but have the fan not be effected by the dimming.