Garage circuits

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-09-14, 09:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage circuits

Want to create two to three additional circuits in my garage, need to run from my main panel off individual breakers, circuits to operate a 220 volt compressor, a 115 v welder and the third circuit to handle additional 115 recepticales. I have to make this run outside through conduit to get to the garage. Can I run multiple circuit through the same piece of conduit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-09-14, 09:12 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Can I run multiple circuit through the same piece of conduit?
Only if this is an attached garage. You can only run one circuit to a detached garage. It sounds though like a subpanel would be a better choice. You will definitely need one if this is a detached garage and it would make things simpler for even an attached garage.

Tech note: You have nominal voltages of 120 and 240 not 115 and 220.
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-14, 09:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Best if you install a sub-panel "Feeder" to the garage; you'll need only four conductors, service-to-panel, and you'll provide a provision for future garage circuits; also, if a breaker "trips" no need to return to the Service panel to restore power.
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 04-10-14 at 12:05 PM. Reason: spacing
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: