adding outlet in line with existing outlet


  #1  
Old 04-11-14, 12:30 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 251
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
adding outlet in line with existing outlet

It seems simple to do but I'd appreciate any advice. i have existing outlet on inside wall. I want to wire off that to outlet opposite of it on outside wall.

Any problems forseen? Advice?

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-11-14, 01:10 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,945
Received 715 Upvotes on 636 Posts
Is this on a 1st floor with a basement? If so you can drop a line through the floor to the opposite wall. If it's in a second floor with an attic crawl space you'll have to go up and over to the other wall. In either case you will have to drill through the sill plate to fish the wire through. Usually you would tap off an adjacent outlet as opposed to the opposite wall.
 
  #3  
Old 04-11-14, 01:17 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,655
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It's not 'technically' a problem per NEC (as long as the circuit you intend to tap is not serving the kitchen, bathroom, or laundry room), it's just poor practice to put outdoor receptacles on living space circuits (in the same manner that it's poor practice to put outlets on lighting circuits).

Don't forget it will need to be a GFCI, and you will need to install an "in use" bubble cover on it.
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-14, 01:20 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,655
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Norm201
Is this on a 1st floor with a basement? If so you can drop a line through the floor to the opposite wall. If it's in a second floor with an attic crawl space you'll have to go up and over to the other wall. In either case you will have to drill through the sill plate to fish the wire through. Usually you would tap off an adjacent outlet as opposed to the opposite wall.
He means the opposite side of the wall, not the opposite wall. He wants to install the boxes back-to-back.
 
  #5  
Old 04-11-14, 04:55 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 511
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is your wall around your panel finished? If not, it likely wouldn't be too hard to run a new circuit for your outside receptacle. Your foundation is probably above ground level, so you would just need to drill a hole in the house a few inches above the foundation which should put you within the joists of your first floor. Just something to consider, maybe you wouldn't be able to get the receptacle even close to where you want it.
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-14, 05:26 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,394
Received 63 Upvotes on 55 Posts
Receptacle Boxes

The new box can be above, below, or beside the existing box but not directly back to back unless you have an abnormally thick wall cavity.
 
  #7  
Old 04-11-14, 05:38 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,945
Received 715 Upvotes on 636 Posts
He means the opposite side of the wall, not the opposite wall. He wants to install the boxes back-to-back.
My bad. I reread it.____________________
 
  #8  
Old 04-13-14, 06:57 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 251
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks !!

Appreciate the comments...........

Now just need to get on with it
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: