GFCI breaker installation in main breaker box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-14, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
GFCI breaker installation in main breaker box

I have a Gould breaker panel that is about 30 years old. All the current breakers are type QP. I just bought a 50 amp GFCI at Home Depot and it is a type THQL (the only one they had). Can I use it or should I return?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-14, 06:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
THQL is GE and should not be used in a Gould panel,check on Ebay and see what might be available .
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-14, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Confused!

None of the eBay sales specify the type and this is the same with Home Home Depot, Lowes, etc. So how are you supposed to know what fits your panel.????
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-14, 07:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
There is a label in the panel with a list of acceptable breakers.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-14, 08:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,024
Siemens bought Gould and their standard breaker is QP. Check the panel label - should say takes QF - QF250 SIEMENS 50A 2P GFCI CIRCUIT BREAKER 50 AMP, GFI, 2 POLE GROUND FAULT - Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters - Amazon.com
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-14, 07:41 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Yep, the old Gould became ITE and then ITE became Siemens in mid '80s.
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-14, 08:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,506
I have an ITE panel in my home and a Gould panel at my cabin, and no, I doubt that you would find breakers for either at the big boxes, but they are available, as I have gotten them through one of our local electrical supply houses. The only thing that I'm pretty sure you won't find, although I may be wrong, is AFCI breakers for them.
 
  #8  
Old 04-16-14, 08:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Siemens type QP breakers should fit both ITE and Gould panels and are available at many box stores. I don't know for sure, but I would think the Siemens AFCI breakers should also fit.
 
  #9  
Old 04-16-14, 09:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Cool Thanks!

Thanks guys. I did find the list of breakers that can be used and it included the QF. I ordered a SIEMENS QF250 from amazon for a lot less then the GE I am returning to Home Depot. Will set my project back a week or so but doesn't matter.
Thanks Again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes