Home panel replacement

Reply

  #41  
Old 04-22-14, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The conductors are #3, so I will definitely need the first ones. It was the second ones I was unsure about. I didn't know what those were used for and if I needed them.
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 04-22-14, 11:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To verify on the grounding wire, can I attach the wire to the steel on the main panel with just the 10-32 screw, or do I still need a ground bar or LUG for that as well?
 
  #43  
Old 04-22-14, 03:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,980
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
I would use one of the holes in the bus bar.
 
  #44  
Old 04-22-14, 04:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
True. I might have to double the neutrals temporarily (more than the already are) but that will work. And once the sub comes out I think I will free up three holes on what I will call the bonded bus as this point since none of it is currently separated.

That being said, I have an ECCS1 on order now, and I found a place that locally has an ELCS2SC that I am going to have to take a look at. My only concern was that the ECCS1 lists that it is "for use on GB type ground bars only". Is there a physical difference between the neutral and ground bars? I hope this doesn't seem like a silly question, but I know the devil is in the details.

Thanks again everyone
 
  #45  
Old 04-23-14, 09:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found in the panel documentation that you can make the left neutral bar into a ground by removing the insulator and adding a lug, so that answers that question. My concern was the contact area would be too small using the ECCS1 connector in the neutral bar on the ITE (as it states it is a for a ground bar and not a neutral bar).Would the extra contact in an ECCS2 be in the ITE panel be worth getting it?

The ECLK2SC (sorry I mangled the part in the previous post) has a curved connector. I picked one up, but glancing at it I think the post on it will be too large to fit in the bar on the ITE.
 
  #46  
Old 04-23-14, 10:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, I think I have decided to stop fighting the old panel and work with what I have. Instead of making the Siemens a 100 amp sub, I believe I can make it a 60 amp sub with 6/3 wire, correct? If this is the case, I will do that and get service entrance staples for that connection. I can get up and running on the new panel and move everything over with the exception of the stove, dryer, and water heater. Then when the time comes, I can put in a disconnect by where the old ITE main is and use the cable and conduit at that time. And I should be able put in a junction and reuse the 6/3 for most of the stove circuit.

Does anyone see any problems with this that I am not considering?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: