Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wiring three wire 220v with 110v to a new 60 amp breaker box

Wiring three wire 220v with 110v to a new 60 amp breaker box


  #1  
Old 04-20-14, 01:04 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring three wire 220v with 110v to a new 60 amp breaker box

Dear Sirs,
I have a problem kowing how to wire the black, red and blue wires correctly to the new box that controls the outside Train airconditioning unit. It has two black wires coming from unit to get the supply from new breaker box. I want to be sure I am wiring it right first of all.
The problem to start with is last year the outside unit drop a leg because I could hear a humming noise from the fan I assumed. I probably have a dead short popping my main breaker in house.
I of course am troubleshooting making sure I have wired every thing up to the new 60 amp breaker box. The reason I replaced the box is because it fried part of the power bar on one side. I wished that I would have taken a picture of the orignal wire positions.
Please help!!
After getting the wiring correcrt with the help. I would appreciate any troubleshooting to hopefully find the cheapest fix.
Thank you, Dale
 
  #2  
Old 04-20-14, 01:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

In residential electric you can't drop a leg. It's not like a three phase commercial service. If you heard a hum it was due to a stuck or not starting motor. A dead short tripping a large breaker could be a defective compressor.

Where are you getting black, blue and red colors from ?
I would expect to see black, red and green.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-14, 01:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Wiring three wire 220v with 110v
No such critter in the US. We have 120/240 but ACs are generally wired 240 not 120/240. You wrote "It has two black wires coming from unit" which is 240v not 120/240v.
how to wire the black, red and blue
There should be no blue wire unless it is 3 phase.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-14, 04:50 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I checked the wires coming from the wall to the outside old 60 amp breaker box. Using volt meter I checked the red and black wires and got 240v. Then I checked the blue wire with red and then black and got 120v.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-14, 05:01 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
These wires are coming out of the wall, coming from main house breaker. These wires went to the old outside 60 amp breaker that powers my central air Train outside unit.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-14, 05:13 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,504
Upvotes: 0
Received 274 Upvotes on 250 Posts
First verify that the air conditioner unit is meant to be connected to 240 volts. If so then connect the red and black wires from the wall to the two black wires of the AC unit.

Is there a bare ground wire coming out of the wall also? Is the box in the wall at the AC unit metal? What is the voltage measured between each wire (one at a time) and the metal box?

You need to find out what the blue wire was connected to at its other end (presumably down in the panel).
 
  #7  
Old 04-20-14, 05:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The Train central air outside unit has only two black wires coming out of it.
My problem is figuring out how to wire up the new outside breaker to supply the unit. Yes I do believe I have a bad compressor. I am just trying to figure out why the red to black is 240 Volts, but blue to red or black is 120 Volts.
Thank you for helping Sir.
 
  #8  
Old 04-20-14, 05:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
but blue to red or black is 120 Volts.
Best guess is the blue wire was run by someone who didn't know you can't use blue for ground. Open the breaker box and check where the blue is connected. If it is a ground you need to pull a new wire because wires #6 and smaller can't be remarked to indicate they are ground.
 
  #9  
Old 04-20-14, 05:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AllanJ,
This is going to my Train central air out side unit. These wires coming from conduit stem from main breaker inside house. These three wires are red, black and blue. They where hooked up inside the out side 60 amp breaker box. I unfortunatly did not remember or take a picture last summer when I disconnected everthing. Believe me i want to kick my self in the butt. With my volt meter leads I got 240 volts between red and black wires. When I touched leads from black to blue I got 120 and got the same from red to blue. The Train central air outside unit has only two black wires for to hookup from outside 60 amp breaker box. The wire coming from the house does not have a green ground wire.
I thank you for any information or direction you can give me.
 
  #10  
Old 04-20-14, 05:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That does make sense to me too! Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 04-20-14, 06:53 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
daleweck

Thank you for everone who helped me realize I could not see the forest for the trees, I did fix the original problem which was insulating the bad red wire, replaced fried breaker box and breaker. I feel like a dumbass but my Grandad told me a long time ago (If you can't admit to your mistakes, your not much of a man.) Central Air working fine. Saved me lots of money!!!
 

Last edited by daleweck; 04-20-14 at 06:59 PM. Reason: Lots of money saved!!
  #12  
Old 04-20-14, 06:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Thanks for letting us know you are making progress. Come back if you need more help.
 
  #13  
Old 04-20-14, 07:44 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,504
Upvotes: 0
Received 274 Upvotes on 250 Posts
A
deleted alsdjgfl; bbsfdb
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: