Circuit Breaker Replaced

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-14, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 13
Circuit Breaker Replaced

I replaced blown twin 15 amp circuit breaker today. It seemed to work ok then later in the day the lights controlled by the breaker were flickering so I went to the breaker panel and put my ear to the breaked that I replaced and I could hear crackling noises from the breaker. Should I shut down that breaker? Does anyone have an idea why this would happen with a new breaker?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-14, 02:38 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
If there was a load on a poorly seated breaker you will hear arcing between the breaker an bus bar. Shut it off and make sure it is securely seated. Also check the connection at the screw terminal.
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-14, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 13
To pcboss - Thanks for your reply. I checked the seating and it seems to be seated ok. I also checked the connection to the wire terminal and retightened the wire. I was able to tell that it is the bottom circuit of the twin breaker. I shut off the top switch and you can see the sparking/arching. Then I shut off the bottom and turneed on the top breaker and no sparking/arching or crackling sounds. Could it be the new breaker? I know when I took out the burnt breaker you could see a burn spot on the bus bar where the breake is seated could that be causing the arching?
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-14, 03:36 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
A burn spot on the bus could definitely cause the sounds you heard. That spot may be too damaged to use.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-14, 03:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusettes
Posts: 13
OUCH!!! Is it hard to move the wireS to a new spot?
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-14, 04:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
Additional conductor can be spliced on if needed. If this is a multi-wire or a 240 volt circuit you will need to move both conductors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'