Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Ceiling fan fell (!!!) and now theres no power in the zone!! Ahh!!

Old 04-23-14, 07:59 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

OK i could really use some advice or guidance. I'm a fairly competent handyman by trade but with all things you have to learn at some point and ive hit an issue where i have understanding and moderate experience but id feel better if it could be confirmed by someone experienced. My mother has a 100 year old home and the other night her ceiling fan feel on her (!!!) in the middle of the night. Luckily shes ok. The power in the zone is completely out. The fan appears to have unscrewed from its base do to a loose bolt. It has fallen clean and there are of course HOT, GROUND, AND NEUTRAL dangling free. They are not touching. The zone controls lights in my mothers upstairs room, 2 lights in upstairs hallway, and 2 lights in basement, mostly this all runs in a straight line. The breaker appears to be on, and has been reset multiple times as of now. There is NO POWER in the entire zone. The breaker feels normal, and wires do not appear burnt or loose, and the wires coming from ceiling fan area appear clean and just look cut. My first assumption is that this breaker has gone bad. I know how to test this, i have a multimeter, and a huge collection or surplus breakers. (my deceased step father was an electrician by trade, i have access to every necessary part and tool). I guess my question is after i test the breaker for AC120 in and AC120 out whats next. |Assuming power is going in to breaker but not coming out ill replace the breaker and go from there. If the breaker passes then im not sure where to go from there. The incident happened at very end of wiring in the zone but as i stated previously NONE of the fixtures are receiving power. Can somebody guide me to my next steps please? my mother is a gr