Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Converting light receptacle outlet to electrical outlet (plug-in)

Converting light receptacle outlet to electrical outlet (plug-in)

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-14, 07:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 43
Converting light receptacle outlet to electrical outlet (plug-in)

Need help! I have 2 light fixtures mounted on my wall, above my mantle. I am mounting my TV on the wall and need to convert the light wiring to a 2 socket electrical outlet. both lights are wired to the same light switch.

Any ideas on how I can convert the 2 light receptacles to regular electrical outlet?

here are pictures that can give you an idea of what I'm working with.....the light fixture along with the type of electrical outlet.
Thanks so much for the advice!!
Chris
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-14, 07:33 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Chris, I will assume you are abandoning the sconces. They are wired to each other so you will need to determine which sconce receives the power first. Hopefully there will be enough slack in the wiring to where you can eliminate the two sconce boxes and extend the cable to your receptacle. At your switch, you can remove the wires from the switch and tie them together with a wire nut. Replace the switch cover with a blank plate. At the new receptacle I would not use a standard one as you have pictured, but one like this. It will allow for cable, HDMI, etc, and will place your TV plug flush to the wall.Home Improvement Made Easy with New Lower Prices | Improve & Repair
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-14, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 43
Thanks Chandler! Since the TV will cover (hide) the outlet, I don't plan to run HDMI, etc through the drywalls. So hopefully a standard outlet will suffice. If you have any other thoughts, ideas, or recommendations on what type of outlet to use please let me know. Thanks again Chandler!
Cheers!
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-14, 08:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Outlet is the box the the device is fastened to. In this case you will remove a light and replace with a receptacle. If it is a switch box you just use a standard receptacle and cover plate as shown in your picture.

Name:  36146451.jpg
Views: 14662
Size:  15.2 KBName:  outlet.jpg
Views: 8791
Size:  46.4 KB

If it is a octagon box since it will be covered just mount the receptacle to a octagon cover plate. Note old style octagon receptacle covers use only one screw to secure the receptacle and are no longer code.

Name:  Hex_Receptacle_Cover_OK.jpg
Views: 9724
Size:  6.6 KB
Code Compliant

Name:  Wrong.jpg
Views: 9782
Size:  9.1 KB
Not code compliant.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-14, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 43
thanks so much for this advice!!
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-14, 07:10 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
I would use a recessed box and receptacle behind the TV.
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-14, 09:09 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I would pack and store those matching Craftsman-style sconces very carefully. The next owner might want to use them to restore the period appearance of the fireplace and chimney. Even if they don't, just having them available should increase the sale value of your home.

Also, since that appears to be a working fireplace, you might want to consider putting your TV somewhere else.
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-14, 07:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 43
Do you think using the fireplace will have an adverse impact to the TV mounted on the wall???
Good recommendation. We will store these for future interest.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-14, 09:03 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Do you think using the fireplace will have an adverse impact to the TV mounted on the wall???
I don't know that it will, but it can. Given the depth of your mantle, it may not, if the visible wall is thermally isolated from the chimney.

If the visible wall is made onto the chimney that will also make adding a new box more of a challenge.
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-14, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 43
10-4: thanks for the heads up! This forum has helped me so much and it couldn't be possible without your input (and all other contributors!)
Cheers!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'