Change motor to 120v from 240v (with pics)


  #1  
Old 04-24-14, 09:30 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Change motor to 120v from 240v (with pics)

Here is the diagram it looks straight forward but there are more wires then i thought.




Also would i need to change this switch for 110.


Name:  IMG_20140422_205125.jpg
Views: 542
Size:  29.9 KB

This is out of my league thanks for your time.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-24-14 at 10:19 AM. Reason: Add enlarged wiring diagram.
  #2  
Old 04-24-14, 03:41 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a 200 plug at the end of the black cable or just wires to go to the breaker panel?
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-14, 04:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,127
Received 348 Votes on 301 Posts
The switch is likely fine since it was running 240 volts before. "Line" is your source power.

For 120 volt operation connect:
White and yellow together with your white line
Red and Black together with your black line
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-14, 04:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,166
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
The actual wiring is no problem. I see a red, black and green wire for power. That should be changed to a cord with white, black and green wires.

As far as connections .........
The white wire(neutral) connects to white and yellow wires at motor.
The black wire(hot) should go thru the power switch and then connect to red and black wires at motor.

Name:  110.JPG
Views: 701
Size:  35.4 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: