Gauge Wire for underground use

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-14, 08:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Gauge Wire for underground use

I have a GFCI electrical outlet that was abandon when we moved our AC unit to the other side of the house. It is on its own breaker and I would like to run that underground, about 50 feet, to my patio barbecue pad. I know in my area, I have to go below 2ft and use sched40.

The intent is to put lighting and receptacle (for radio, or other small electrical load).

Iím just not sure what gauge wire I should use or should it be jacketed in one cable or individual wire of black, white, green?

Any help would be of great assistance,

Jayce66
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-14, 08:45 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
If you run a cable you can use UF where not subject to damage. Individual conductors need to be run in conduit.

It sounds like a 20 amp circuit wired with #12 would be plenty. You will need a weather resistant GFI with a in use cover.
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-14, 08:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
PCBoss
Thanks for the info.

Jayce66
 
  #4  
Old 04-25-14, 09:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,042
I have a GFCI electrical outlet that was abandon when we moved our AC unit
Window A/C or central unit. Neither would normally be GFCI and it may be 240 volts.
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-14, 09:43 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
What size is the breaker for this circuit?
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 04-25-14 at 07:49 PM.
  #6  
Old 04-25-14, 07:14 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,383
I have a GFCI electrical outlet that was abandon when we moved our AC unit
Window A/C or central unit. Neither would normally be GFCI and it may be 240 volts.
My understanding of the OP is this is a GFCI receptacle at the location of the old central A-C unit used for servicing the unit.
 
  #7  
Old 04-25-14, 08:21 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The intent is to put lighting and receptacle (for radio, or other small electrical load).

Iím just not sure what gauge wire I should use
Originally Posted by pcboss
It sounds like a 20 amp circuit wired with #12 would be plenty.
Originally Posted by Nashkat1
What size is the breaker for this circuit?
should it be jacketed in one cable or individual wire of black, white, green?
Your choice.

I know in my area, I have to go below 2ft and use sched40.
You might want to double-check that. The National Electric Code, a model that's adopted by many jurisdictions, requires that, for circuits that do not have GFCI protection, and are not protected by a concrete slab, Type UF cable must be buried no less than 24" if it is not in conduit. Individual conductors in nonmetallic conduit, which includes all types of PVC conduit, must be buried no less than 18". Individual conductors in metal conduit, either IMC or RMC, must be buried no less than 6".

If you provide GFCI protection to the circuit before the run, you can bury either Type UF cable or individual conductors in nonmetallic conduit no less than 12" deep.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes