Pool Pump & Timer Wiring Questions... motor overheats


  #1  
Old 04-26-14, 08:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pool Pump & Timer Wiring Questions... motor overheats

OK it is a long story, lol. I have an in-ground pool and had a 1.5hp Pentair pump, 240v. My inexperienced contractor hooked it up and it was running dry for hours when I got here (two years ago). Since that time, I hooked up a Tork 1103 timer to it and shortly thereafter my problems started. I blamed them on the fact that the pump was running dry but now think different. The pump started overheating and kicking out the thermal overload. I noticed it clicking and the pump starting a couple of times every hour. So long story short, I acquired a different pump and it does the exact same thing, so I think I have something wired wrong. So I need helppppp! I have pictures showing how I have it hooked up but what I have is a Hayward 2810X152 1.5hp pump, 240v, two speed; Tork 1103 Timer; and a high/low switch in between. Helppppp

Name:  Motor Wiring Diagram.jpg
Views: 11578
Size:  37.2 KBName:  Motor Wiring.jpg
Views: 18406
Size:  41.4 KBName:  Panel.jpg
Views: 11390
Size:  50.1 KBName:  Switch Box.jpg
Views: 6015
Size:  48.1 KBName:  Tork 1103.jpg
Views: 16378
Size:  40.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-27-14, 12:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,857
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I have gone over your wiring and it is correct. I would recommend checking the voltage right at the motor.
Check from yellow to red when on low - should be +/- 240vac
Check from yellow to blue when on high - should be +/- 240vac

Switch wiring........

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 2252
Size:  13.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-14, 05:40 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I may have found the problem. I checked voltage as recommended and thought I'd start at the breaker first... I put the probes on the two terminals with the wires and got 120v... i thought no, can't be. The electrician that wired the house hooked that one up, not me. I tested the bottom two terminals with the top one and both read 240v. So am I right thinking that I am only putting 120v into this pump??? Which wired do I put on the top breaker terminal?
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-14, 07:49 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're absolutely right. You are only feeding it 120v. The black wire should be on the top terminal of the breaker. The middle terminal is neutral. While you're in there, take a black Sharpie or some electrical tape and mark those whites as hot.
 
  #5  
Old 04-27-14, 07:55 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am floored that it was wired wrong. I'm wondering why the first pump kept pumping as long as it did being wired as 110. Does it matter which hot is which going to the pump?
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-14, 07:56 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No it doesn't matter which is which.

That had to be some collossal brain farts on the part of both the electrician and the inspector to miss that.. If the white was in the middle I'd say ok maybe it was originally planned to be a 120v pump.. But having the black in the neutral terminal is just stupid.

The first pump was possibly a bit more efficient when it was new, therefore wasn't drawing as much current until it started wearing. Or it was just shedding heat better, and now maybe dust/grime is built up and acting as an insulator. That would be my guess.
 
  #7  
Old 04-27-14, 08:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,857
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
It's really amazing a pump even started on low voltage.
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-14, 06:00 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks all for your input. I changed the wire on the breaker and got 240 flowing and it all works GREAT!! Thank you!
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-14, 06:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,857
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Thanks for stopping back. It's appreciated and good to know you've got your problem worked out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: